They Don't Run

Status
Not open for further replies.

k3ithrm

Newbie
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
Why don't the different classes run in team fortress? Because sometimes when crazy **** is going on and I need to get away I forget and press shift, obviously not going to run. Just wanted to know why they made the game that way.
 

Sedako

Chuck Steak
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
3,604
Reaction score
2
Why don't the different classes run in team fortress? Because sometimes when crazy **** is going on and I need to get away I forget and press shift, obviously not going to run. Just wanted to know why they made the game that way.
Because it wasn't designed with a run button.
 

Pesmerga

Newbie
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
10,092
Reaction score
2
Because you're stupid and that's the way it is.
 

Sam

Newbie
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
1,960
Reaction score
1
What?

Play a scout if speed is such an issue :/ The different classes are different.
 

Letters

Tank
Joined
Aug 7, 2003
Messages
6,861
Reaction score
1
Odd, I just need to press W, A, S, or D to run. Sucks for you!
 

Absinthe

The Freeman
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
14,040
Reaction score
26
I'm confused.

Aren't you running by default...?
 

-Psy-

Walking round in women's underwear
Joined
Mar 9, 2005
Messages
4,805
Reaction score
0
Imagine a heavy sprinting.

/thread
 

Jintor

Didn't Get Temp-Banned
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
14,783
Reaction score
14
Yes, but they could also balance out how fast they ran, so it'd be just as balanced as how they move..
Fast people run fast.

Slow people run slow.

This is because the fast people generally have less health and so need to avoid being hit, and the slow people generally have more health and so can tank.

This is called balance.
 

k3ithrm

Newbie
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
Fast people run fast.

Slow people run slow.

This is because the fast people generally have less health and so need to avoid being hit, and the slow people generally have more health and so can tank.

This is called balance.
Okay, thanks. Just wanted to discuss this.. but I guess there's no need :)
 

CyberPitz

Party Escort Bot
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
24,818
Reaction score
7
Because this isn't MOH/COD/etc...

Personally, I don't have a worry for it. I say your running already!
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
130
Reaction score
0
Ugh... it's a game.

Christ.
First time I saw this thread I was absolutely blown away in the same fashion. For some reason I was too pissed off to give a response at that time and ignored it for a day.

I can sort of see where you (the OP) are going with the idea of running from danger, but TF2 isn't that type of game. There's absolutely no need for a sprint button because everyone always runs without getting tired.

Logically, you *could* design a sprint function and implement it into the game properly, but the game is also fine without it. My opinion is that it's another button to bind, and the game flows a lot better without having another movement button to think about. Plus fighting without an option to sprint is just part of the gameplay.

Without any particular reason, imagining TF2 with sprinting pisses the hell out of me. I just don't see a need for it. It's a personal thing. I can't imagine a Soldier sprinting to cover everytime he needs to reload. It disrupts the current flow of gameplay. You say you want to sprint out of danger? What about the guy who is targeting you and is carefully placing his rockets where you are about to step? It's part of the gameplay to have one movement speed for each class.

There are enough games where everyone uses sprint to get to the front lines. You figure maybe sprinting would reduce the amount of time attackers have to secure an objective before the defense sprints back to the objective. Sprinting changes the tempo of the game.

Kinda like how I like enjoy Half-Life's run speed and don't really feel all that happy with the sprint key in HL2.

I'd like to keep convoluted movement systems in my tactical sims, and I'd like to keep simple movement systems in my other games. It's *not* that kind of game.

*Flame Mode On*
It's a ****ing game. Never played Wolfenstein? Doom? Quake? Hell, while we're at it, maybe Serious Sam would have been better if you could sprint to avoid those harpies and headless bombers!!! In Unreal, those Skaarj could run so fast and pounce so quickly that a sprint key would have really helped you out zomg! You know, rockets also have a small blast radius in games. Guess what? Maybe the soldier's rockets should have the damaging potential of a really god damn LAW rocket, have it spill fire all over the place. You might as well ask why the sniper doesn't have an option to setup a camoflaged position overwatching the battlefield while prone. Yadda Yadda Yadda.

*Invokes the Lord's name in vain*
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
130
Reaction score
0
Well, I was thinking more along the lines of "Jesus Holy Christ".

Point being, the attitude that every useful feature from every good game should be crammed into ever future game annoys the hell out of me.

Graphics and feature lists are very important for gameplay, but I also enjoy games that don't require the specs of Crysis to run or require the entire keyboard to play. Certain games require only the arrow keys and zxc and I'm grateful for that. As much as I like games like SWAT 4, why do some people want to bind 10 keys for leaning, crouching, proning, changing speed modes, to sprint, to "use" stuff, to deploy bipods, etc when it's absolutely not necessary?

A sprint key in TF2 IS NOT NECESSARY. Lordy.
I think it would add another key to worry about without adding positively to gameplay. I play tons of games where sprint is binded to shift but I have never ever thought that sprint in a Team Fortress game so similar to the classic version would be a logical idea.
 

Hectic Glenn

Site Director
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2004
Messages
12,233
Reaction score
238
You are running by default, shift makes you walk I believe. The purpose being I guess is that the game is ridiculously fast paced as it is and running needs to be a constant thing. A scout sprinting would be ridiculous at any rate.

Also it would need to be controlled (a degenerating bar) and it would be really annoying for the speeds to be changing between players in the midst of tactical attacks/defending.

And if you people could try to be a little more tactful in answering threads that members start. Regardless how silly you think the question is, no one deserves to be treated like a moron for it.
 

k3ithrm

Newbie
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
YES, I UNDERSTAND IT ALL NOW!!
Now that you guys pointed it out, I am very grateful that there is no sprint button in TF2!! :|

I do respect your long reply though.. I'm glad we can talk about things here.
 

k3ithrm

Newbie
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
You are running by default, shift makes you walk I believe. The purpose being I guess is that the game is ridiculously fast paced as it is and running needs to be a constant thing. A scout sprinting would be ridiculous at any rate.
I always forget that when you hit shift it makes you walk, the only time I hit it is when it's just done by accident, so I can see where the whole "you're running by default" takes place.
 

Stonewallboy

Newbie
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
63
Reaction score
0
I'm starting to get why k3ithrm is acting like such a noob. Look on the Orange Box's Quick Reference Card. On the TF2 controls, they place Shift as the "sprint" button.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top