system requirements

tommycat

Newbie
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
poseyjmac said:
where do you see that, im curious, because im only seeing these crappy 9800se's on pricewatch, where the 9800 np should be.
the 9800se is the np version. I have one, and it works great. I'm more processor limited right now than graphics card(that and my AGP is only 4X on this board)
 

Shuzer

Newbie
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
0
tommycat said:
the 9800se is the np version. I have one, and it works great. I'm more processor limited right now than graphics card(that and my AGP is only 4X on this board)
The 9800SE is not the same thing as a 9800 non-pro. The 9800SE is a toned-down 9800 pro, with pipelines disabled. The 256bit versions can be softmodded, as you've said, into a pseudo-9800 pro.

The 9800 non-pro isn't being manufactured anymore
 

bosox188

Tank
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
1,411
Reaction score
0
tommycat said:
I dunno, the 9800 non pro is selling for around that price, and it has the performance equivalent to the 9700 pro. and in many cases you can softmod them.... I'll shut up now.
Yeah I don't think they even make 9800 non-pros anymore, just 9800se. I'm not getting those. They only have 128-bit memory, and the 9700 pro has 256-bit memory. I don't have much to spend, and I'm stuck with a Geforce FX5200 and it looks terrible in games. I don't care if I can't get 60fps, I'm happy with 30 or higher, and there's no difference in visual quality between 9800 and 9700 right?
 

tommycat

Newbie
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
My mistake, sorry, but my recommendation stands as opposed to a refurb if you are worried about support/warranty.

From what I understand visually they have approximately the same appearance. The 9700 Pro in some cases outscored the 9800np. The 9600XT is still behind the 9700 Pro.

Personally, I'm tempted to get the X800 XT Platinum Edition.
 

Frank

Newbie
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
2,383
Reaction score
0
What do you guys think of:
1700+ AMD XP
512 DDR RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro 128
 

bosox188

Tank
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
1,411
Reaction score
0
Frank said:
What do you guys think of:
1700+ AMD XP
512 DDR RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro 128
Processor too low. Everything else is great, if you have the money you could upgrade to 1gb ram but you don't need to. You really should upgrade the processor before anything else though, it's a little old and it'll bottleneck your 9800 pro. I don't know how much you have to spend, but if you don't have too much (like me) try an XP 2500+ and up. The 2500+ is only around $70-$80 and it'll be good with the rest of your specs. And you can always overclock it to a 3200+, a lot of people who have them have done it.

EDIT: What motherboard are you using? If it's as old as your 1700+ it might not support a 2500+ so you may need a new one. It would help if you told us.
 

poseyjmac

Newbie
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
4,766
Reaction score
0
i just upgraded to a gig of ram and man it was totally worth it. faster loading times in all games, and none of that jittery framerate in the beginning of each level once you load. and windows just responds faster in general. ive always heard how great it was, now i know :)
 

Shuzer

Newbie
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
0
poseyjmac said:
i just upgraded to a gig of ram and man it was totally worth it. faster loading times in all games, and none of that jittery framerate in the beginning of each level once you load. and windows just responds faster in general. ive always heard how great it was, now i know :)
I did the same myself about 2 months ago.. I concur completely, I love it :)
 

Frank

Newbie
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
2,383
Reaction score
0
bosox188 said:
Processor too low. Everything else is great, if you have the money you could upgrade to 1gb ram but you don't need to. You really should upgrade the processor before anything else though, it's a little old and it'll bottleneck your 9800 pro. I don't know how much you have to spend, but if you don't have too much (like me) try an XP 2500+ and up. The 2500+ is only around $70-$80 and it'll be good with the rest of your specs. And you can always overclock it to a 3200+, a lot of people who have them have done it.

EDIT: What motherboard are you using? If it's as old as your 1700+ it might not support a 2500+ so you may need a new one. It would help if you told us.
Okay, when it comes down to shit like this I'm lost!
Does this mean I can just buy this http://www.shg.dk/images/produkt2/320381/UHFHAYVPC2_269_269.jpg and then my computer will be a lot faster?

My motherboard is an Elitegroup, Mainboard Socket A ( I don't know shit about this). HELP!
 

flupke

Newbie
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
298
Reaction score
0
Not alot in just browsing your files in explorer, or starting up the pc ; but faster in games yes. Certainly.

I have a 2400+ / 512DDR400 / Radeon 9800 pro and trust me, my pc is (a lot) faster then yours. Your cpu is a bottleneck... You can buy a 2400+ / 2500+ for 80 euros at most.
 

CR0M

Tank
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
0
I just upgraded from an asus a7v-333(x4 agp), ti 4600, xp2100+ to an asus a7n8x-e deluxe, xp3200+, radeon 9800pro 128mb for about £300 and it is benchmarking with almost exactly 100% speed increase in 3dmark2001.

Having seen scores for similar non-overclocked machines however, it is about 1000-2000 short of the average mark and I can't figure out why.

Any ideas?
 

bosox188

Tank
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
1,411
Reaction score
0
Frank said:
Okay, when it comes down to shit like this I'm lost!
Does this mean I can just buy this http://www.shg.dk/images/produkt2/320381/UHFHAYVPC2_269_269.jpg and then my computer will be a lot faster?

My motherboard is an Elitegroup, Mainboard Socket A ( I don't know shit about this). HELP!
The motherboard is a Socket A which I think means it should work with the processor I showed you. all you have to do is buy a better processor. How much do you want to spend? Tell me and I'll show you the best one.
 

Frank

Newbie
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
2,383
Reaction score
0
bosox188 said:
The motherboard is a Socket A which I think means it should work with the processor I showed you. all you have to do is buy a better processor. How much do you want to spend? Tell me and I'll show you the best one.
Yep, it's a socket A, so please help me! Just show me one to a fair price! GIMME GIMME GIMME, I NEEEEEED!!!
 

poseyjmac

Newbie
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
4,766
Reaction score
0
Darkknighttt said:
is it bette to get a gig of ram or 2 512's?!
its best to get 2 sticks of identical chips,because then you can run them in dual-ddr mode, which gives you a boost in performance. a lot of stores have dual-ddr 'kits' which they've tested to work in dual-ddr mode together.
 
J

jonathan_s

Guest
My specs are:

Athlon XP 2400+
512MB PC3200
Radeon 9800pro

I'm guessing it will run ok.
 
S

Scorp_Ice183

Guest
Specs:

P4 1.7ghz
512mb pc2700
GeForce 3 64mb

Tho I plan on bummping the ram to 1gig, and the card to at least a radeon 9800pro, or just buying a whole new system, this ones 2 years old, its starting to show its age...
 

Frank

Newbie
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
2,383
Reaction score
0
Scorp_Ice183 said:
Specs:

P4 1.7ghz
512mb pc2700
GeForce 3 64mb

Tho I plan on bummping the ram to 1gig, and the card to at least a radeon 9800pro, or just buying a whole new system, this ones 2 years old, its starting to show its age...
If I were you I would wait until the game gets released, then see what happppppppppppppppppens

damn keyhbboarrrd
 

CoolFunkMan

Newbie
Joined
Jun 23, 2003
Messages
74
Reaction score
0
Ok, my current specs are:

- 333mhz Intel Celeron
- 384mb RAM
- GeForce2 MX400 32mb

Which I know will never run HL2.... :p However, I'm gonna be getting a new system around July time (if all goes according to plan.) The specs for that are:

- AMD Athlon XP2800
- 512mb DDR PC2700 RAM
- Radeon 9800pro (if they are still around, if not, then I'm screwed...)

That should be enough for me, roll on HL2!!! :D
 

NeLi

Newbie
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
813
Reaction score
0
I'll be gettin' myself a X800PRO and a new AMD processor. Then I'm set.
 
S

Scorp_Ice183

Guest
If ima get a new system it will be at least a 64bit 2.2ghz amd, them new shinny processors sure do look spiffy, that along with a gig of ram pc3200 at least, and a Radeon 9800xt/pro that is given the price should go down soon on them...
 

Darkknighttt

Newbie
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Messages
1,176
Reaction score
0
i was reading the newest issue of pcgamer and it says them athlon 63 fx-51 or 53(cant remember) rune at 2.2ghz. i was just wondering what would a pentium equivalent be for an athlon 64 fx-53?!
 

blahblahblah

Newbie
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
5,036
Reaction score
0
Darkknighttt said:
i was reading the newest issue of pcgamer and it says them athlon 63 fx-51 or 53(cant remember) rune at 2.2ghz. i was just wondering what would a pentium equivalent be for an athlon 64 fx-53?!
Pentium 4 3.4Ghz EE (Extreme Edition). It is a $1000 processor.

The Athlon 64 FX-53 on the other hand is a $800 processor.

Link

You cannot compare GHz to processor performance anymore. There are a ton of other variables that affect how fast a processor really is.
 
K

KittyCat

Guest
Apos said:
T
http://half.ebay.com/cat/buy/prodidEQ68AMPmeta_idEQ5[/l][/QUOTE] Didn't a big batch of Saphires ship with cheep ram that didn't work right? It would explain why you are selling it...
 

crownest

Newbie
Joined
Jun 30, 2004
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
I'd rather get a X800, just add something like $50 more from the 9800 pro and you can get the X800.

9800s arent worth it now.
 

ailevation

Don't toke Sour Diesel
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
4,908
Reaction score
0
:hmph: Fool 9800 Pro's are $249 while x800 Pro's are $399, what $50 difference? Worthless? Hell no, still a good buy.

By the way welcome to the forums.
 

CR0M

Tank
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
0
absolutely. The 9800 pro is half the price of an x800 in the UK and is good enough to run next gen games.
 

^Thomas^

Newbie
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
237
Reaction score
0
I have pretty much the latest hardware at 3.4GHZ P4, 1024DDR PC3200, Radeon X800 Pro.
 

yadalogo

Newbie
Joined
Feb 22, 2004
Messages
333
Reaction score
0
Mien Comp

Alright

i got:

3000+ mhx amd xp processor ( only 2.1 ghz, lame)
9800xt 256mb :)
and 512 mb of ram * im getting another 512 when HL2 comes out*

anyone think/know if i can run everything on high in 1024x768 or 800*600
 

Pauly

Tank
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
2,633
Reaction score
0
P4 2.6ghz
512mb of those big ones(ram)
and A smoking Radeon 9500 pro
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
106
Reaction score
0
yadalogo said:
Alright

i got:

3000+ mhx amd xp processor ( only 2.1 ghz, lame)
9800xt 256mb :)
and 512 mb of ram * im getting another 512 when HL2 comes out*

anyone think/know if i can run everything on high in 1024x768 or 800*600
With a 9800XT you'll easily be able to run everything on highest detail at 1024*768. You'll get around 60-70 fps is my guess.
 
P

pires2077

Guest
Im building a new computer-i'm only 14 so i dont know that much about them. But i have built one before.this will be my first pentium

3.0ghz intel pentium 4 processor
40gb 10,000rpm sata hardrive
512mb crucial ram
asus p4c800 mobo
radeon 9800xt

will this run half life 2 on full specs??

also im just wondering when you put the proccesor on the mobo do you have to put some type of liquid on the processor to keep it cool or do you put some kind of sticker on?sorry if its a dumb question :)

Thanks
 

blindvomit

Newbie
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
234
Reaction score
0
Where the hell did it say that they are discontinuing 9800 Pros? Anyway if anyone is planning to get a 9800XT DONT. Not saying it's a bad card, it's a good card, but save yourself some cash and buy a Radeon 9800 Pro and about $20 bucks worth of good cooling (VGA Silencer Rev.3) and hope that 98Pro comes with a R360 core, most new Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pros do, which you can grab for $206 OEM right now on www.newegg.com and you can flash it to a 9800XT saving yourself around $200 dollars, with those $200 dollars you can buy other upgrades like RAM, or hell even a good processor.
 

blindvomit

Newbie
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
234
Reaction score
0
pires2077 said:
Im building a new computer-i'm only 14 so i dont know that much about them. But i have built one before.this will be my first pentium

3.0ghz intel pentium 4 processor
40gb 10,000rpm sata hardrive
512mb crucial ram
asus p4c800 mobo
radeon 9800xt

will this run half life 2 on full specs??

also im just wondering when you put the proccesor on the mobo do you have to put some type of liquid on the processor to keep it cool or do you put some kind of sticker on?sorry if its a dumb question :)

Thanks
Get another stick of 512 and you will run it smoother than a babies ass, Thats pretty much the system I'm going to get;
P4 3.0E
Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
Radeon 9800Pro flashing to 9800XT
1gb Mushkin PC-3200
160Gb Maxtor 7,200RPM 8MB Buffer

And the stuff you put on the processor is called thermal grease, theres also thermal pads but their shite, the best thermal solution out there is Artic Silver 5 which you can grab from www.bestbyte.net for $6 Free Shipping. Good Luck.
 

Frank

Newbie
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
2,383
Reaction score
0
How many topics about your system requirements have been made over the last year? Oh well, it's good for our post counting...

1700+
512 DDR RAM
Radeon 9800 PRO

If only I knew how to overclock!? I'm thinking about buying a 266Mhz bus 2400+ CPU since they only cost 70$ right now...
 
Top