Stuttering Poll

Do you stutter?

  • Yes I have stuttering.

    Votes: 50 35.0%
  • No I don't have stuttering

    Votes: 93 65.0%

  • Total voters
    143

NJspeed

Newbie
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
533
Reaction score
1
I used to really bad when the game first came out. Eventually I got rid of it through the updates, and getting rid of the Omega drivers and going back to Catalysts. Now it only does it SLIGHTLY, and only when theres a tremendous amount of new action on screen and a bunch of new sounds/graphics/etc being loaded.
 

shoman24v

Newbie
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
119
Reaction score
0
NJspeed said:
I used to really bad when the game first came out. Eventually I got rid of it through the updates, and getting rid of the Omega drivers and going back to Catalysts. Now it only does it SLIGHTLY, and only when theres a tremendous amount of new action on screen and a bunch of new sounds/graphics/etc being loaded.
So you have it? then vote yes.
 

th3Phallex

Newbie
Joined
Dec 1, 2004
Messages
131
Reaction score
0
I think K-Ci & JoJo have the stuttering problem.

I can tell you're lying, cause when you reply you
Stutter, stutter
Stutter, stutter




sorry, I couldn't help myself.
 

CyberPitz

Party Escort Bot
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
24,818
Reaction score
7
I have that stutter to, but I voted no because every game has that ;) It's my 512 meg PC2100 ram...really if theres only sturring with high action and new stuff, its probably just his ram/hdd/cpu..not the BIG BAD STUTTERING PROBLEM... ;)
 

Kirkburn

Newbie
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
849
Reaction score
0
Even though this poll is biased towards 'stutterers' (seriously, why would most people without a problem come here?), it appears the stuttering is VERY MUCH in a minority.
 

Seppo

Tank
Joined
Feb 27, 2004
Messages
4,569
Reaction score
0
I haven't had any stuttering since the very first day (December 24) I played the game. You might even say it's worked nearly flawlessly, with just a few random crashes
 

tranCendenZ

Newbie
Joined
Jul 31, 2004
Messages
155
Reaction score
0
Pentium4 3.2C GHz w/ 800mhz FSB, 1GB PC3200 RAM (2x512mb in dual channel config), Intel brand 865PERL mobo, BFG GeForce 6800GT, Seagate 7200.7 7200RPM/8mb cache 160GB SATA Hard Drive, Turtle Beach Santa Cruz soundcard, no unknown/extra processes running/spyware/virii free, all hardware components check out fine during burnin tests, latest drivers/bios, HL2 CE DVD w/ latest patch as of today at all high detail 1600x1200 4xAA/8xAF reflect world...

Lots of stuttering, especially in later levels, despite a high framerate.
 

Foebane

Newbie
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
281
Reaction score
0
th3Phallex, I *LOVE* your Breen avatar. It just looks so funny because it's so true! All he does is talk bollocks! ROFLMAO!!

No, I don't have a stuttering problem. Well, not really.
 

nutcrackr

Newbie
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
2,007
Reaction score
0
stuttering absolutely but not as bad as some of the vids I've seen.
 

shoman24v

Newbie
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
119
Reaction score
0
If your taking the time to view this thread make sure you please vote. :)
 

HadouKen24

Newbie
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
316
Reaction score
0
I do have stuttering.

I blame it on the fact that I can't stand medium textures, so I set it to high textures. Despite the fact that I don't have enough memory to do so without stuttering even in Doom 3. (Something screwy with the way my machine uses memory... just isn't as efficient as it should be.)
 

Pesmerga

Newbie
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
10,092
Reaction score
2
Christ is it REALLY that big of a problem? Too many threads with this constant bickering.

If you have such a serious problem with it, there's a small button on your speakers. It's green. Press it.
 
M

MjM

Guest
I goty it. :(

But only on my new computer, go figure, which gets like 4times the frames my older one gets (~50 - 100fps).

CS:S seems alright though, only get stutter in the first round, then presumably, after all the bits and pieces have been loaded into memory it runs smooth ass. I guess its the same story for HL2DM.
 
M

MjM

Guest
Pesmerga said:
Christ is it REALLY that big of a problem? Too many threads with this constant bickering.

If you have such a serious problem with it, there's a small button on your speakers. It's green. Press it.
You dont realise what happens. The game essentially pauses (0fps)when the stutter occurs, so its not just a matter of putting up with sound stutter, but also gameplay stutter.

It is quite serious in that respect, it really does ruin the game for you. i guess im lucky i played through HL2 on my older machine, but still it needs to be put right. In my opinion it renders the game unplayable. And im use to playing games at 20fps on my old machine.
 

Dumb Dude

Spy
Joined
Nov 27, 2004
Messages
1,804
Reaction score
0
Pesmerga said:
Christ is it REALLY that big of a problem? Too many threads with this constant bickering.

If you have such a serious problem with it, there's a small button on your speakers. It's green. Press it.

YES it is a really big problem, its not only audio! The audio AND video pause every 10 seconds for about 3 seconds. It gets really irritating and if you haven't experinced the stuttering then don't bash the people that do experince it. I'm glad I played through this game without the stutter but ever since I got my 6600gt its been stuttering.
 
M

MjM

Guest
In a way im kinda glad that 30% of the people have the problem, it means it cant really be ignored by Valve.
 
C

Cl1mh4224rd

Guest
HadouKen24 said:
I do have stuttering.

I blame it on the fact that I can't stand medium textures, so I set it to high textures. Despite the fact that I don't have enough memory to do so without stuttering even in Doom 3. (Something screwy with the way my machine uses memory... just isn't as efficient as it should be.)
Err... I hope you didn't vote "yes" because of that.
 

shoman24v

Newbie
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
119
Reaction score
0
Cl1mh4224rd said:
Err... I hope you didn't vote "yes" because of that.
I hope he did, that means he stutters. Think of it like this, what happends when you raise the graphic settings on a game? It's suppose to slow down FPS wise, not stutter.
 

Jintor

Didn't Get Temp-Banned
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
14,783
Reaction score
14
stuttering only occurs when

breen zaps me with the enhanced G-Gun
I want to know why.
 

Sparta

Newbie
Joined
Sep 27, 2003
Messages
6,312
Reaction score
0
I've got stuttering. Main reason i dont play the game much anymore. It stutters too much and takes away from the atmosphere. That and the load times are pretty bad. Good thing the gameplay is worth it in the end though.
 

HadouKen24

Newbie
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
316
Reaction score
0
Err... I hope you didn't vote "yes" because of that.
Oh, I get bits of stuttering here and there even with textures on medium. It just gets really bad on high whenever it has to load up anything new.

I ordered a couple extra sticks of memory which should be coming in tomorrow (err... today, since it's after midnight) or the day after. So most of my stuttering should be gone soon. :bounce:
 

BabyHeadCrab

The Freeman
Joined
Dec 2, 2003
Messages
23
Reaction score
599
it's so odd only the dust maps seem to give me stuttering and sometimes it mildly imrpoves (very mildly) whenI turn down aa
 

Asus

Newbie
Joined
Aug 22, 2003
Messages
10,346
Reaction score
0
I stutter when I run HL2 and D3 at the same time. Valve should fix that. :naughty:
I know, it is a serious issue but far less people have the same issue you speak of compared to just load stuttering, such as at the begining of the level.

You really consider this a valid sampling? :\
 

Mountain Man

Newbie
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
2,248
Reaction score
0
The question and poll selections are too vague. First, it needs to be clarified exactly what "stuttering" problem is being addressed. "Stuttering" is generally understood to be one of two things:

1) There is (or was) a rather serious bug that would case Half-Life 2's framerates to drop to unplayable levels for extended periods of time. This is what is most commonly known as the "stuttering bug". This bug is also exceptionally rare.

2) Then there is what some people refer to as "stuttering" which is the occasional hitching that occurs whenever the game accesses the hard drive. This type of "stuttering" is extremely brief and sometimes unnoticable and shows up in one form or another in practically every game I play.

So for the purposes of this poll, what do you mean by "stuttering"?
 

Cypher19

Newbie
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
448
Reaction score
0
For me there are only two, consistent times in the game stuttering happens to me:

1) Blowing the last generator in the "really old building" near the end of Follow Freeman.
2) The explosion on top of the Citadel.

I've only tested this with #2, but if I save shortly before the event, let the event play, and reload, there's no stuttering. Odd...
 

MuToiD_MaN

The Freeman
Joined
Nov 5, 2004
Messages
4,513
Reaction score
227
RedRedSuit, I have about those specs too. A smattering of stuttering, myself.
 

synth

Newbie
Joined
May 14, 2003
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
I used to have stuttering very badly but not recently anymore.
 
J

JavaByte

Guest
i kinda sorted mine appart from load (new stuff) stutter by setting FPS_MAX to half my V-sync rate (85/2 = 45) the default = 300 which is a bit daft of Valve IMO as most people will get a performance drop at that rate, whearas most people would get a performance gain from a setting of v-sync or half v-sync rate (in extreme case you could try 1/4 v-sync and also changing the v-sync refresh to 60hz (therefore giving FPS_MAX 15) this should help a lot on marginal machines that only just make the min-spec (or Geforce 440mx users)
 

rpgprog

Newbie
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Messages
691
Reaction score
0
i never really noticed any bad stuttering, just right after a load, which seems pretty normal.
 
Top