Small bug in polls

Krynn72

The Freeman
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
26,080
Reaction score
916
Woa, weird. I always just thought it was broken. Its been like that for me for as long as I can remember. I never type www in my urls, so I never realized it did actually work.
 

Munro

ValveTime Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 18, 2003
Messages
17,746
Reaction score
6
Use www. then. Sorted!
 

ríomhaire

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 31, 2004
Messages
20,874
Reaction score
414
Seeing as you guys actually do read this section it seems can I get an answer on the "forum policy" thread two threads down?
 

ZoFreX

Spy
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
558
Reaction score
2
Woa, weird. I always just thought it was broken. Its been like that for me for as long as I can remember. I never type www in my urls, so I never realized it did actually work.
This is exactly the situation I was in, but when they front-page'd the current poll I figured, it must be working for someone, and worked out why it wasn't working for me.
 

Shem

The Freeman
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
1,954
Reaction score
182
This might be the first time www. actually matters.
 

ZoFreX

Spy
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
558
Reaction score
2
You appear to be running Apache, so have some codes: :p

Code:
RewriteEngine on
rewritecond %{http_host} ^halflife2.net [nc]
rewriterule ^(.*)$ http://www.halflife2.net/$1 [r=301,nc]
* Of course a better solution would be to debug the javascript, but this is easier...
 

Munro

ValveTime Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 18, 2003
Messages
17,746
Reaction score
6
I still prefer the option of you adding www. to your bookmark :)
 

Krynn72

The Freeman
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
26,080
Reaction score
916
I, for one don't usually use my bookmark. I just type "H" in the omni bar and Chrome handles it from there.
 

ZoFreX

Spy
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
558
Reaction score
2
I still prefer the option of you adding www. to your bookmark :)
Personally I type URLs. Anyway, if you want some motivation, it's a best practice for content to only be available at a single canonical URL (or to use the link rel=canonical tag to indicate what the authoritative URL is). You may be penalised by search engines if this is not the case. What I'm saying is, adding those three lines to your Apache config will make your website rank higher in Google.
 

Hectic Glenn

Site Director
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2004
Messages
12,233
Reaction score
238
Makes a lot of sense ZoFrex, seems very logical and sensible indeed. However, that is not how we operate here. Think of something random, then think of something else random. Put them together and that is how we roll!
 

Acepilotf14

Sucked so much dick for this title
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
13,011
Reaction score
46
Are the poll background colors white for anyone else? It's jarring compared to the nice colors of the rest of the site and hard to read the text.
 

Vegeta897

Banned as all ****
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
26,150
Reaction score
468
Are the poll background colors white for anyone else? It's jarring compared to the nice colors of the rest of the site and hard to read the text.
Yeah, this has been like this since the new theme. Same with the code blocks in posts.
 
Top