Read! Reason For Hl2dm Lag!

Ñ

.ñµkËz

Guest
I have seen countless threads about the 'lag' in HL2DM. For the last time, the servers are crap! Wait until decent servers arrive!
 

smacky

Newbie
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
112
Reaction score
0
my ping was around 45 everytime, not bad. i got a 2mbit dsl line though
 

MiccyNarc

Tank
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
5,136
Reaction score
0
Actually, I think one of the huge reasons is the number of objects in a level, all of which the server has to keep track of, and report this to numerous computers.
Remember that next time you use a chair to slay another Metrocop. :p
 

ArKTisK

Newbie
Joined
Oct 13, 2004
Messages
70
Reaction score
0
once you get decent servers itll be all normal. we had 15 people on one in overwatch and shit flying everywere and ping was steady 45, no lag
 

Thadius Dean

Newbie
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
884
Reaction score
0
if i can get a game with 4 people on my computer with no lag (besides what was already there) then i think its doing pretty good.
 

Jimmeh

Tank
Joined
Jul 31, 2003
Messages
2,446
Reaction score
0
I've joined so many servers now and this lag doesn't seem to happen for me anyways, which is a good thing. My ping is always between 20-60 with servers that have around about 15-20 players in. I guess I'm just lucky heh, the top 50 servers in my server list are always pinging 15-30-ish, I've had no troubles yet.
 

The Dark Elf

Newbie
Joined
Oct 5, 2003
Messages
16,080
Reaction score
2
Thadius Dean said:
if i can get a game with 4 people on my computer with no lag (besides what was already there) then i think its doing pretty good.
Same here, im surprised it could run atall with me hosting. Still got my arse kicked too lol
 

Mr. Redundant

Newbie
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
4,446
Reaction score
0
I have played on a bunch of servers, the un-dedicated ones perform poorly

the dedicated ones are a dream.

MiccyNarc said:
Actually, I think one of the huge reasons is the number of objects in a level, all of which the server has to keep track of, and report this to numerous computers.
Remember that next time you use a chair to slay another Metrocop. :p
I played the same level, with the same amount of objects, with more people than the server that was lagging.

I think its simply server status right now.

keep jumping around until you find a stable one near you.

however physics do indeed create the net congestion that should be making us play at muddy looking ping rates... but so far I have only played on 2 unsuitable servers.

the rest might as well be on lan!
 

Mac

Newbie
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
778
Reaction score
0
I'm not sure though, I've been on servers where my ping was like consistantly below 80 and no packetloss/choke. something smells fishy
 
T

Tenaku

Guest
It appears that it's not an issue of pingtimes or bandwidth, but processor power. I'm thinking that most of the servers out there are not able to handle the load of all the physics calculations hl2DM requires.
 

StAtiC

Newbie
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
300
Reaction score
0
I agree, dedicated servers are what you need to look for. I played on a 14 player dedicated, overwatch only and had no problems...
check this out: 66.55.137.135:27015
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
149
Reaction score
0
I did played to had a ping of 40 but still there are lag pb also on dedicated servers, they need to fix it . Still i think it is great.
 

Messermeier

Newbie
Joined
Nov 20, 2004
Messages
138
Reaction score
0
... no, it's not always the servers.

i run a dedicated server (100 mbit, 2ghz) for 10 players, and the pings are fine. the same server can handle 14 cs source players without any problems.

still, the game is extremely jumpy, even with only 2 people playing.
 

destrukt

Newbie
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
4,128
Reaction score
0
i played on a 20 player server on overwatch and i had 90 ping constant, and i'm on 256 kb adsl, for a few hours.
 

clarky003

Tank
Joined
Nov 8, 2003
Messages
6,124
Reaction score
1
the good servers are already arriving. more official dedicated ones
 

Platinum

Newbie
Joined
Jun 28, 2004
Messages
1,152
Reaction score
0
<?>..::ButcheR:: said:
I did played to had a ping of 40 but still there are lag pb also on dedicated servers, they need to fix it . Still i think it is great.
your avatar freaks me the hell out ... cant wait to try hl2 mp
 
T

Tenaku

Guest
Messermeier said:
... no, it's not always the servers.

i run a dedicated server (100 mbit, 2ghz) for 10 players, and the pings are fine. the same server can handle 14 cs source players without any problems.

still, the game is extremely jumpy, even with only 2 people playing.
Well, the only server I have seen so far that was essentially lag free was advertised as an Athlon 64 3200+, so may 2 ghz just isn't enough.
 

Mac

Newbie
Joined
Jul 30, 2003
Messages
778
Reaction score
0
I'd say for all the physics calculations, your gonna need dual athlon 64 3200+s. 4gb of DDR 600 RAM and, that should do it.
 

JrdnGrn

Newbie
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
127
Reaction score
0
something to help you out with lag problems..
I donno if someone posted cuz I was too lazy to read..but.

Go to options>keyboard>advanced>turn on console

Press ~ for console and type rate 25000 (they have it as 7500..which is too low)
now type cl_cmdrate 100 and cl_updaterate 100

That should help it out..GL!
 

Ryjalon5k

Newbie
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
521
Reaction score
0
i dont lag too much (i can still whoopass!) aslong as there is only like 6-8 peeps in the game. ( i got 56k.)
 

Acert93

Newbie
Joined
Oct 24, 2004
Messages
297
Reaction score
0
Messermeier said:
... no, it's not always the servers.

i run a dedicated server (100 mbit, 2ghz) for 10 players, and the pings are fine. the same server can handle 14 cs source players without any problems.

still, the game is extremely jumpy, even with only 2 people playing.
I have been on some stable servers with 20 players. That is odd about your server because LAN runs well and I have been on some rock solid servers with over a dozen players--so jumpy with only 2 indicates there is a problem somewhere. If a client side LAN on a 1GB/2.85GHz P4 runs fine, then you would think a dedicated box like yours would run better. How much RAM on the box? Good ping and low packet loss? Anything else running on the server?

I would guess that CS:S is less intensive than HL2DM, so you will need to run a few less people. But I doubt the physics are some major load (i.e. 3x or more load... I am guessing 50% more CPU load, just a guess). Remember, games like BF1942 allows 64 players on at a time. I play a lot of DC, and when you have 7 or 8 jets in the air moving fast shooting 30 bullets a second, anti air, tanks, machine guns, etc... on massive maps all going at once, that is a load. And a dedicated server can still hand it.

I hope you figure your box out. The good news more and more solid servers are showing up. I have played on quite a few now. The key is finding a server with the correct player slot amount. Far too many admins guess to high and when the server gets full it goes from a dream to lag heaven. 2 or 3 people to many can really make a difference. More info on lag and finding good servers can be found here.

I do hope they add a TDM and DM filter. I am getting bored with DM. Yeah, fun to kill... but I like working as a team. Work toward an objective... that kind of stuff.
 
S

sirs69

Guest
I run a 28 player (dedicated) server on an AMD 3200+ and a 100meg fiber connection. It runs terrific compared to some of the other servers out there, with a full server my pings don't go over 100 (and no i'm not connected directly to it.. The only problems I've had were the server crashing and too many god d#$n people using the grav gun.

The object physics eats the server alive, especially when they all clutter together. I noticed errors on the console. I think code optimization will make all this better, my server runs about 60-70% cpu with a full server..

And to get by the crashes I had to mp_timelimit 10 .. But hey, team deathmatch is fun as hell :)

Speak of the devil, I just ran update and it looks like they updated the engine to v18, woot!

WooT's Dedicated Server, AMD 3200+
IP: 206.80.69.218
 
Top