Ram upgrade = Slow Performance?

DigiQ8

Tank
Joined
Jul 6, 2003
Messages
5,956
Reaction score
0
So I've just upgraded my ram to 6GB, and now I'm getting choppy fps in every game I have. Other stuff like Photoshop are working fine.

- Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, 3000 MHz (9 x 333)
- Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
- 3x Corsair XMS2 CM2X2048-6400C5 - 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400)
- NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GX2

Oh help me Asus.
 

Dumb Dude

Spy
Joined
Nov 27, 2004
Messages
1,804
Reaction score
0
Are you running a 32-bit, or 64-bit operating system? With that much RAM I would hope it's the latter. How much RAM did you have before the upgrade? Have you tried running MemTest or some other memory testing app to see if it might be bad RAM? Have you tried taking out a stick at a time to see if the problem improves?
 

giant384

Tank
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
8,151
Reaction score
4
you should have bought 2x1 gig sticks and 2x2 gig sticks so you still have dual channel. ddr2 does not do triple-channel, so that may be your performance slow down there.
 

Krynn72

The Freeman
Joined
May 16, 2004
Messages
26,084
Reaction score
917
So I've just upgraded my ram to 6GB, and now I'm getting choppy fps in every game I have. Other stuff like Photoshop are working fine.

- Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, 3000 MHz (9 x 333)
- Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
- 3x Corsair XMS2 CM2X2048-6400C5 - 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400)
- NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GX2

Oh help me Asus.
What ram did you have before? DDR2-800 isnt very fast.
 

ailevation

Don't toke Sour Diesel
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
4,908
Reaction score
0
Run memtest to test to see if your ram is bad. You might want to test them all at the same time, then individually. Also 3 x 2 gig sticks means you're not running dual channel and those P45 mobos don't run triple channel. Because you're not running dual channel wouldn't mean it would make your game choppy, you're performance would just decrease like lower min and max FPS. Bad ram sticks can cause system crashes and other weird stuff. You could also go into your bios and check to see if your ram is actually running at default spec, look out for the voltage especially.

You should also consider your videocard, 9800GX2's are very notorious for microstuttering
 

DigiQ8

Tank
Joined
Jul 6, 2003
Messages
5,956
Reaction score
0
Hey, well it seems there was a problem was with my bios. a friend suggested that I return the bios settings to default, so I did. Now it's working fine. Weird thing is I didn't touch my bios.

Thanks everyone <3
 
Top