Need some modding help on the Steam client.

Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
So i was tampering with steam a bit, and i found a secret "Console" menu... so i tampered with it too.
And i found some interesting commands in it, but the most interesting one is the "open" command.

Now people thought its impossible to use the steam client as a web browser, well thats where i need help.

Inserting the "open www.google.com" command in the console will take you to the google search engine.

so i was thinking that someone here could add a tab next to the "store, library, community and the *Your name* tab. And here is the proof for "pix or it dednt harpoon"
kmeka.JPG
 

Omnomnick

Retired Lead Content Creator
Staff member
Joined
May 29, 2007
Messages
6,325
Reaction score
1,125
What would you do if I told you most of the tabs of the Steam Client are just browsing the internet?
 

Lolcomputer

Party Escort Bot
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
306
Reaction score
93
Well i know ffs and i want one of the tabs to open google cause the url bar is restricted
From what I know, you simply can't. You can run .bat files from your desktop that will run those console commands, but adding new content to the filesystem, will most likelly conflict with the core files , and result in a crash on launch and corruption in Steam's local files. The reason why you can add a console tab, is because it already exists within Steam's files.

But don't take my word for it, maybe you can mod some of the files by use of some magic, but I higly, HIGHLY, doubt it.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
From what I know, you simply can't. You can run .bat files from your desktop that will run those console commands, but adding new content to the filesystem, will most likelly conflict with the core files , and result in a crash on launch and corruption in Steam's local files. The reason why you can add a console tab, is because it already exists within Steam's files.

But don't take my word for it, maybe you can mod some of the files by use of some magic, but I higly, HIGHLY, doubt it.
Could i simply just edit the menu's?
 

tomemozok

Space Core
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
331
Reaction score
19
i've been playing youtube videos trough steam as a browser for years now.
That way my pc runs smoothly with games on steam(which is not the case if i have chrome in the background for some reason)
AND it's easier to change a track by going shift+tab.
just go into achievments or something while you are ingame and woala! you have a working browser.
 

TheWiktor

Party Escort Bot
Joined
Aug 22, 2013
Messages
195
Reaction score
106
i've been playing youtube videos trough steam as a browser for years now.
That way my pc runs smoothly with games on steam(which is not the case if i have chrome in the background for some reason)
AND it's easier to change a track by going shift+tab.
just go into achievments or something while you are ingame and woala! you have a working browser.
Orrr just use the actual, fully functional browser that's available in the Steam Overlay by clicking 'Web browser'?
 
Top