LFD2 and TF2 crash on start.

IChewExtra

Sandvich
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
So I wanted to play LFD2 with a friend so I clicked play. It crashed not even 10 seconds after starting. Did the verify cache thingy, still didnt work. Deleted and reinstalled, still didnt work. So I downloaded and installed TF2 because its by the same comoany. ANd what do ya know, crashed just as fast.
I would like help, I know its not my computer because its so much better then needed for these games, and my card is up to date driver wise
 

Gemini

Spy
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
75
Reaction score
9
Did it work before, or was it crashing since the first time you tried it ?
 

IChewExtra

Sandvich
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
It worked on my old computer, but since I upgraded everything even the hard drive yesterday was the first time I tried to play it. So it's been crashing since first time you could say.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
25
Does it give you an error message like "hl2.exe has stopped working" or does it just disappear?
 

IChewExtra

Sandvich
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
"left4dead2.exe has stopped working" and I just uninstalled steam off my computer, redownloaded steam, then redownloaded left 4 dead and same thing
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
25
try launching any other source game or game in general. if nothing works its not a steam related issue, I'll try looking into it
 

IChewExtra

Sandvich
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
BioShock Infinite worked just fine. TF2 crashed just like LFD2
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
25
Hmm, well that narrows it down to source games only. whats your computer specs?
 

IChewExtra

Sandvich
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Video Card's a 770
CPU's an i7-3770k @ 3.5 ghz
16 gigs of some ram, dont know the exact model
a fatal1ty z77 motherboard
So I can run anything I want, but the valve games just wont load.
I know my video card drivers are up to date.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
25
Looks like most people with this problem has a problem with drivers or background programs that messes with directx

put -dxlevel 81 in the game start up
If that doesn't work ill have to keep looking
also have source games worked on this computer before or haven't you tried before now?
 

IChewExtra

Sandvich
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
"-dxlevel 81" Still didn't let the game load. And no, this is the first source game I've tried on this computer, it's all relatively new hardware.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
25
Yeah the only thing I can find is that its problems with directx.
Try manually installing it from here
 

IChewExtra

Sandvich
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
I forgot about this place but I opened the nvidia control panel and reset the global settings from maxed out everything to default and boom. Loaded right up, thanks for spending the time trying to help.
 
Top