Suitable Temp for Athlon XP's?

Discussion in 'Hardware & Software' started by pingu, Jul 25, 2004.

  1. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get about 73C on my athlon xp 2800+, is this dangerously high?
     
  2. SpuD

    SpuD Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats pretty damn high, get a new heatsink and fan
     
  3. FictiousWill

    FictiousWill Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it is. With crummy cooling I got maybe 55 C under load on my old athlon xp 2800+ comp. Anything over 60 should get you worried. Make sure that's the actual temp of your processor through your bios though. It could be just your temp software being screwy. Sandra tells me that I have a temp of over 200C on one of my sensors. Fact is there's nothing in that one.

    If the temp reading is accurate, turn off the comp asap, clean out any dust and dirt, and see what you can do to cool that sucker down some. Maybe another fan or two is in order, or a larger heatsink/fan combo for the processor.
     
  4. Asus

    Asus Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    10,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd clean out the dust from your case and heatsink/fan while making sure your case can bring in cool air and there is enough room out the back to effectively get rid of the hot air. Having it on carpet or pushed against a wall is a bad idea.
    A better heatsink/fan is recommended.

    What is your room temp and case temp?
     
  5. Direwolf

    Direwolf Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen them run that high, but wouldn't recommend it. With a big-ass Zalman heatsink I get about 53C, and it edges up towards 60C under heavy load.
     
  6. NJD2003

    NJD2003 Guest

    You could cook bacon on that thing. I say do it.
     
  7. AzzMan

    AzzMan Guest

    With my Zalman HS I only get like 43C max with mine......and that's OC'ed to about 2.3 ghz
     
  8. Patten

    Patten Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, everybodies seems to be running hot compared to mine.

    I check the temp every now and then and its usually at 100-110 farentheit (about 40 celcius, don't think i spelled either of those right.) just after a few hours of gaming, and its overclocked a bit whith stock cooling except the big fan I have on the side of the case blowing into it.
     
  9. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well its under my desk in the corner of my room, is it worth putting it on the desk then?

    When idle on the desktop its about 57C, after some far cry action its about 73C.

    I dont see why the fan that came with the processor should be insufficient.
     
  10. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im using ASUS Probe to check the temp, how do i check it throught the bios?

    Its telling me my cpu fan is going at 3443 rpm, isnt that pretty quick?
     
  11. AJ Rimmer

    AJ Rimmer Tank

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,456
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got my XP 2600+ on the side under my desk, one side of the chassi is cool and nice but the one facing the table is definate cooking-bacon material. Speedfan says my temp is 61, would moving it help ya think?
    Also, what cooling does a GF MX440 have if anyone knows?
     
  12. Warbie

    Warbie Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    10,617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Woh - that's hot.

    My Barton is running at 2.5 gigs and never gets hotter than 45c (thermalright sp97). It usually idles at 36c ish.

    It's time to get rid of the dust and whack some new thermal paste on that bad boy :) Maybe invest in a better heatsink/fan if you can m8.
     
  13. AJ Rimmer

    AJ Rimmer Tank

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,456
    Likes Received:
    2
    nevermind.
     
  14. Warbie

    Warbie Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    10,617
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was referring to Pingu :)

    Your chip does seem to be running hot too, though. It's still worth getting rid of some dust on the heatsink. Attacth a small rubber tube to a vacuum cleaner and invade your case ghostbusters stylee \o/ (make sure you take the fan off and give the heatsink a good going over)
     
  15. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used a program called CPUCool and it has brought my temperature down from 62C to 46C.

    Although theres a 6 degree difference in the readings from cpucool and asus probe, how can I know which one is right?
     
  16. FictiousWill

    FictiousWill Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    No program will decrease your temp. Restart your computer and press F1 or Del or F2 or whatever key is right for your motherboard and enter your bios. Find a sub-menu called "cpu health" or something. It should list your cpu temperature as recorded by the motherboard there.

    Anything over 60 is cause to be worried, you're not running 'cool' until you're under 40.
     
  17. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well this program did decrease my temp considerably.
     
  18. FictiousWill

    FictiousWill Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, what it did was probably 1.) gave you the reading from a different temperature sensor in your computer, or 2.) read the sensor differently, or 3.) is messed up.

    Unless your program has magically clocked down your processor, (Which it hasn't) it cannot alter your processor's temperature.

    That's like saying you can change the temperature of something just by using a different thermometer.
     
  19. Asus

    Asus Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    10,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    The program he used does cool the CPU. Basicly when the CPU is idle it launches a command to put the CPU into a state. Usually it uses less voltage when in that state.
    There is both CPU temp and Socket temp which would describe the temp difference.

    It can put stress on the VCore circuits though.
     
  20. DiSTuRbEd

    DiSTuRbEd Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm the XP's can only go to about 85C and then they start melting...I suggest you cool that sucker down fast!
     
  21. Asus

    Asus Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    10,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah, they won't actually melt til 100C or so. Maybe higher.
    85 is just the thermal limit for the core to safely function, as stated by AMD.
    It really depends on the core. Not all Athlon XPs are 85 C.

    Link
     
  22. FictiousWill

    FictiousWill Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's all well and good, but if the cpu isn't idle it won't do that. That limits him to 10-minute sessions of HL2 to maintain his cpu. Not much fun.


    The solution to an overheated processor is a physical alteration to the processor's environment. Do we know how many fans are in the case, Pingu? What kind of hs/fan are on the chip?
     
  23. Asus

    Asus Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    10,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't mean a span of time where his CPU is idle.
    There are many thousand cycles a CPU does in a second and so many of those are actually wasted.
     
  24. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    The athlon came with an amd fan i think, it looks fairly large to me, but thats me. Theres the fan by the plug blowing out, and the fan on the 9800 pro.
     
  25. SidewinderX

    SidewinderX Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm... you need more airflu in your case. badly. Go by a dremel and cut some holes :p
     
  26. NYHoustonman

    NYHoustonman Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    How dusty is your case? Many people have asked and you're yet to answer. That can be a big factor. Also, assuming you know how to get into the BIOS (hit delete as the computer is starting), the screen that shows your temps will be called 'hardware monitor.' I don't remember the exact name of the tab up-top that it's under, but it was towards the right. From Asus Probe, I'd like to know your VCore, as well.

    Another thing to try would be flashing your BIOS... I remember reports of some motherboard, and I believe it was an Asus, reporting temperatures extremely high until the BIOS was revised.
     
  27. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    My case isnt dusty at all, ive just taken the sides off and moved it above my desk but it seems to have made no difference.

    Asus Probe says my Vcore is 1.744 (cpucool on), 1.728 (cpucool off), would you like to know what it is whilst playing a game?

    I reset my bios just before I installed a fresh windows xp.



    Btw what did u mean in this sentence : Also, assuming you know how to get into the BIOS (hit delete as the computer is starting), the screen that shows your temps will be called 'hardware monitor.' I don't remember the exact name of the tab up-top that it's under, but it was towards the right.

    Cheers :E
     
  28. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    how hot should my 9800 pro be

    i dont have a temp measure but by putting my hand on the side without the processor whilst its running far cry, it seems pretty hot
     
  29. DiSTuRbEd

    DiSTuRbEd Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if he has any of the thermal grease touching all the dye...hmmm
     
  30. NYHoustonman

    NYHoustonman Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0

    Aight, what I meant is, to get into the BIOS, you hit delete (repeatedly) as the computer is just starting up. A screen should come up, this is the BIOS. At the top of the screen should be various categories; go over to the right until Power is highlighted. Go down on the screen to where it says Hardware Monitor, and press enter. These are the temps according to your motherboard (assuming it is an Asus and has the same layout in the BIOS as both of mine).

    That VCore is a bit high... I'm thinking you can get it down safely to 1.65 (Asus motherboards automatically overvolt, for superior stability). What motherboard do you have?


    EDIT-9800 Pros run pretty hot... I personally have an aftermarket HSF on it.
     
  31. blahblahblah

    blahblahblah Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, 1.744 is pretty high for a CPU. That is probably causing your temperture problem.

    Go in to your bios and you should be able to run at 1.65 volts with no problem at all if you have a Athlon XP 2800+ with no overclock.
     
  32. DiSTuRbEd

    DiSTuRbEd Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was running 1.744 I just noticed, I turned it to 1.65 volts, I totally forgot to change it in bios...:(
     
  33. riTuaL

    riTuaL Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    For my new PC all I got was: AMD ATHLON64 CERTIFIED CPU FAN & HEATSINK ..

    Do you think it will keep my stuff cool? I have heat spreaders on my memory and a heat sync on my vid card..

    sys specs are in sig..
     
  34. DiSTuRbEd

    DiSTuRbEd Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just went from 46C idle to 43C idle...wow that makes a big difference!
     
  35. blahblahblah

    blahblahblah Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    If its a stock AMD heatsink, you should be more than fine. I don't even think there is more than a handful of HSF for the Athlon 64. Most HSF's are meant to cool the Athlon XP's and P4's in this world.
     
  36. FictiousWill

    FictiousWill Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    0
    The stock amd64 heatsink is fantastic.
     
  37. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok my Vcore in the bios says 1.60, my vcore in Asus probe says 1.728, the temperature is the same in both, it wont let me change the voltage in the bios, it just sets monitor voltage to on or off.
     
  38. NYHoustonman

    NYHoustonman Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can change the VCore... It's not in that same menu. It'd be more to the left, under chip configuration or something. But what motherboard do you have?
     
  39. pingu

    pingu Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Asus A7v600
     
  40. DreamThrall

    DreamThrall Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this problem before... my CPU still idles around mid 60's C, and usually gets up around 70C-72C under load. It was higher until I took the fan off the CPU heatsink and removed the 4mm layer of dust... it was like peeling lint off that lint thinger on your clothes dryer. Needless to say, the CPU temp dropped about 7-8 degrees C after that. I'm going to guess that even after that, you're still going to a be running a bit hot, so you might want to try and remove and re-install your heatsink with some different compound. I'm not sure about the specifics of doing that since I have yet to do it myself, but I'm sure other people here (like Asus) could fill you in on the details.
     

Share This Page