steam.exe (main exception): unable to load library Steam.dll

Discussion in 'Game Modifications' started by mattnegline, Aug 9, 2006.

  1. mattnegline Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    steam.exe (main exception): unable to load library Steam.dll

    this is such a joke.....a not very bloody funny joke!!!!

    I just bought this game the other day (Half life 2)
    took a rostered day off to play it
    then I get
    steam.exe (main exception): unable to load library Steam.dll
    I scanned for viruses, spy ware, ad ware
    I turned off my firewall
    turned off my virus protection
    turned of spy ware
    turned off adaware
    I don’t have any other guardian progs
    deleted that blob file people have been talking about
    installed steam from website and I get
    another error problem with "8e8"....that is only a fraction of what I can remember from the pop up that comes up.

    I have Pent 4 2.8
    2 gig ram
    256 6600 geforce vid card
    not that this is going to bloody help at all
    I paid a lot of money for a product that I have to configure, problem solve alter files delete files & bend over backwards.

    I thought gaming was supposed to be fun?????
    Can someone ease my frustration?

    cheers Matt
  2. 63 Newbie

    Member Since:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Message Count:
    8,985
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Restart steam, restart your computer... I get this problem every so often, always resolves itself.
  3. Inu Yasha Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ,,,

    Sorry to bump, but...
    I have this problem as well and it won't go away, Can anyone help.
  4. Zunni Newbie

    Member Since:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Message Count:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Inu Yasha Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. TigerStar Newbie

    Member Since:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In hell
    Pah, you expect the assholes at valvE to reply to an email for help? Buaha.. That's a good one. I've never gotten this error but once, and that was because our internet was down.
  7. berrs001 Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Peer guardian

    I had this problem too. If you are using peerguardian check that it is not blocking any of the IP's that valve/steam uses. You can either allow each one individually or disable PG for a short period.
  8. berrs001 Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this problem too. If you are using peerguardian check that it is not blocking any of the IP's that valve/steam uses. You can either allow each one individually or disable PG for a short period.
    Edit/Delete Message
  9. trent_bob Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same

    me and my roomate and another guy I know get this problem everyday... sometimes it won't connect for a day... i went as far as re-formatting windows and only installing steam and it didn't help....

    anyone has any info let me know
  10. Althaeraeon Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am officially beyond furious.

    I read on this board on another thread that google search brought up that the issue could be alleviated by simply reinstalling steam. So I uninstalled steam.

    What's this? It took Half Life, Portal, HL2 Ep1, HL2 Ep2, and TFT with it!

    I popped in the Orange Box to reinstall and I get this stupid ****ing "Steam.exe (main exception): Unable to load library Steam.dll" bullshit.

    WHY THE HELL DO I HAVE TO HAVE STEAM TO RUN MY GOD DAMNED GAMES.

    /Rant

    Someone please find out how to fix this crap... :(


    PS... I finally understand why this German kid is so upset in this... he has Steam.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbcctWbC8Q0

    PPS: I have followed the instructions from this page: http://support.steampowered.com/cgi-bin/steampowered.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=261

    Still getting this error.
  11. Andrewz21 Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what the **** valve

    same problem here guys..this is ****ing retarded. i tried reinstalling steam like 12 times, nothing..turned off firewall and all that shit, nothing..deleted steam reg files, nothing..i don't really know what to do, i check out some other 'help' pages and those pussies just say, "oh you have a bad steam file, just try another reinstall". so pissed
  12. Dodo Tank

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Message Count:
    2,175
    Trophy Points:
    50
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    wouldnt it help if you delete steam.dll, and restart steam. that way the next time you start it up it will have to redownload a new (maybe working) steam.dll, maybe this helps, im not sure.

    -dodo
  13. Andrewz21 Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that's the problem. i guess when it is updating, it's actually downloading the latest Steam.dll, as it doesn't install Steam.dll from the dvd
  14. Andrewz21 Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if someone could post the original Steam.dll file it would be appreciated
  15. Andrewz21 Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    never mind the previous post. i got the steam.dll file via google, but then it asked for the steamui.dll file, so i downloaded that file as well, put it in the steam folder but it still says unable to load SteamUI.dll. Back to square one..
  16. Venefyxatu Guest

    Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this problem too. In my case it was my firewall blocking Steam. A quick search learned me that the following ports need to be open :

    TCP Ports : 27020-27050
    UDP Ports : 1200,27000-27015

    That's a whole lot more ports than I like to see open, but hey ... at least it works.

    *mumble, mutter, grumble*
  17. Member Since:
    Message Count:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks.. resolved :thumbs:
  18. Dyer_ Newbie

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Message Count:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Allow ports on Vista

    Hi same problem for me.

    How can i enable this ports on Vista???Please
  19. Cyberdave Newbie

    Member Since:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Message Count:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem and found this thread on google.
    Turns out the problem was peer guardian as someone mentioned so thanks!
    I put the PG2 window up and watched what happened when I tried to use Steam.
    A number of sites including Valve and LimeLightNetworks were being blocked. Just unblocking the ip in PG didnt help so I shut it down and was able to get access.
    But yea steam sucks.
  20. attasbank Newbie

    Member Since:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Message Count:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I searched for this problem in google and found this page which helped me in post #15 by Andrewz21
    I found out Steam did not install steam.dll so i downloaded the missing .dll file and placed it on C:\Program Files\Steam
    And now it works!!!!

    If you want to download steam.dll then go to:
    http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-files.shtml?steam

    Cheers,
  21. tiwerd Newbie

    Member Since:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Message Count:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    behind proxy and web filter etc

    Vista Business Edition w/SP1: Unable to Load Library Steam.dll
    In my case I was trying to install Steam behind a corporate Proxy. I made sure that I was on a VLAN that was not being (web) filtered by changing my IP to one on a static range that was not filtered. Next I opened IE to an external site that poked a hole in the proxy. I double-checked and found that Vista's firewall was turned on with no effect on Steam. Next I was able to open Steam and it was able to connect to it's servers and get the updated .dll, logged into Steam and entered my license key for F.E.A.R.2 woot! :cool:
  22. Dr@gontunter Newbie

    Member Since:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Message Count:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have same problem firstly than i download steam and install it. it bemoan to me some mistake like steam.dll

    Then i downloaded file steam.dll added in steam folder and trying again, then it bemoan some steamUI.dll it lack.

    i downloaded and added in steam folder. then i start steam icon and it start updating and again that f*****g "steam.exe (main exception): unable to load library SteamUI.dll"
  23. antreas9 Newbie

    Member Since:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    windows XP, SP2, but my laptop is the business laptop (so i dont have any access to ports etc).
    I tried to install steam, and i got the classic message:
    "unable to load library steam.dll"

    i downloaded and placed it in the folder of steam, and i got another message:
    "unable to load library steamUI.dll, win32"bla bla...
    i downloaded and placed it in the folder of steam, and i got the same message.

    Do you have any suggestions?
  24. darklord27 Newbie

    Member Since:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Message Count:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have the same problem aswell, even after i connected directly to the port
  25. Rostik1010 Newbie

    Member Since:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Message Count:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agree, i got the same problem with serious sam HD,
  26. Link Tank

    Member Since:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Message Count:
    2,457
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Location:
    Britland