Source SDK help thread

Discussion in 'Game Modifications' started by Sorze, Nov 6, 2004.

  1. who

    who Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do I edit the hammer config so I can make dod:s maps?
     
  2. I am new here. I need help really bad! I am just starting making maps, and I tryed taking a tutorial and the tutorial told me to draw a box and press enter. when i make my box and let go of the mouse the lines turn blue and then when I hit enter the box disappears, and evrytime i try it keeps happening and i have checked many help sites and forums. I need help!!! Thx
     
  3. marcusmodder

    marcusmodder Guest

    you have the arrow tool selected whilst drawing the box don't you.

    You need to select the brush tool. This looks like a white cube. Onec you have drawn the box with the cube tool, just hit enter, or right click and select "create object"
     
  4. marcusmodder

    marcusmodder Guest

    does anybody know how to import their own sounds (WAV) into hammer to be used in a HL2 map???
     
  5. WillY

    WillY Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    just put your sounds in the hl2\sound folder. In Source they have to be in 44mhz, 16bit, stereo format: PCM, or lower...
     
  6. marcusmodder

    marcusmodder Guest

    thanks, I couldn't remember if I made that folder up myself as it has pretty much nothing in it.

    Thanks, I try that out!!!

    *Marcus*
     
  7. Double_Blade

    Double_Blade Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    May I ask one question?

    Can you make other characters (or models) that are not related to Half-life 2 in Source SDK?

    Serious answers please.
     
  8. ALT_F4

    ALT_F4 Guest

    ok heres an odd one, where do u get the map editor for half-life 2?
     
  9. Fluffy Kitten

    Fluffy Kitten Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Start Steam, go to Tools, download the SDK, open the SDK, open Hammer, enjoy.

    Serves 5.
     
  10. Hunter_8472

    Hunter_8472 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    how can I view Ep. 1 models in the model viewer? They don't seem to be in any of the folders I've looked in.
     
  11. ohyo

    ohyo Guest

    ok I had the same problem, then I put my wav in the folder now it shows in the sound browser as the next wav filename appended onto the end of my wav. like this:

    "/MYWAVFILE.wavambient/_period.wav"
    Do I need to edit a script file or something?
     
  12. Atomic_Piggy

    Atomic_Piggy Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I get Episode One content onto my model viewer? its not there. :(
     
  13. Decapitaded

    Decapitaded Guest

    ok, i have tried to get hammer to work but it wont, one after another sais files like Steam.dll and other are missing or cant access them. Is there anywhere that i can download everything i need for hammer?
     
  14. Subversa

    Subversa Guest

    Hi! Im making a Ak-colt like map, and I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to do something like, ammo_#mm_max 90 thing in the SDK editor?

    Thanks
    Sub
     
  15. myth

    myth Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    how can i run hammer without selecting sdk...
     
  16. Teknoguy

    Teknoguy Guest

    Sdk Help!

    Hey, i just started using Source SDK and when i am in the program working on a map, all i see in the 3d view is a black screen, what should i do?
     
  17. hehe thats what happening to me too, cant see any of the objs in hammer at all, and it feels like a stiff dead box, its nothing simple like 3dsmax, hammer is extremly complicated for me for now, so stiff feels wierld, and the model vievew has bad controlling, you cant move the model away from the center so you can fully view the model, valves got some realy wierld tools =(

    anyways im still stuck at compiling under vs express 2005, seems the Valve Developer Community docs are out of date, very old place, i need some recent docs on compiling under VS express 2005

    thanks
     
  18. G-Dub

    G-Dub Tank

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3,041
    Likes Received:
    2
    Select a block and under view choose center 3d view on selection or something along those lines.
     
  19. Rennmniscant

    Rennmniscant Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Simple answer: you can't

    Long answer: Not unless you're a well adept programmer with skills far exceeding mine. You have to open it through the SDK so the hammer.exe file in ...\sourcesdk\bin can properly initialise through Steam.dll for reasons that escape my intellect.
     
  20. Rapstah

    Rapstah Spy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,204
    Likes Received:
    2
    How would i go about making the soldiers in Half-Life: Source work as barneys and the other way? Would i have to make completely new NPC types?
     
  21. mathisjr9

    mathisjr9 Guest

    I every time I try to run game "F9" I get this


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\mickeyd202\sourcesdk\bin\vbsp.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\SourceMods\TEST" "C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\hl2 maps\test"

    Valve Software - vbsp.exe (Aug 4 2006)
    1 threads
    materialPath: c:\program files\steam\steamapps\SourceMods\TEST\materials
    Loading C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\hl2 maps\test.vmf
    material "" not found
    Material not found!:
    fixing up env_cubemap materials on brush sides...
    ProcessBlock_Thread: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    **** leaked ****
    Entity light_environment (0.00 -448.00 512.00) leaked!
    Processing areas...done (0)
    Building Faces...
    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\mickeyd202\sourcesdk\bin\vvis.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\SourceMods\TEST" "C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\hl2 maps\test"

    Valve Software - vvis.exe (May 22 2006)
    1 threads
    reading c:\documents and settings\owner\my documents\hl2 maps\test.bsp
    reading c:\documents and settings\owner\my documents\hl2 maps\test.prt
    LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\documents and settings\owner\my documents\hl2 maps\test.prt


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\mickeyd202\sourcesdk\bin\vrad.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\SourceMods\TEST" "C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\hl2 maps\test"

    Valve Software - vrad.exe SSE (May 22 2006)
    ----- Radiosity Simulator ----
    1 threads
    [Reading texlights from 'lights.rad']
    [45 texlights parsed from 'lights.rad']

    Loading c:\documents and settings\owner\my documents\hl2 maps\test.bsp
    No vis information, direct lighting only.
    56 faces
    37717 square feet [5431296.00 square inches]
    0 displacements
    0 square feet [0.00 square inches]
    7 direct lights
    BuildFacelights: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (10)
    Build Patch/Sample Hash Table(s).....Done<0.0064 sec>
    FinalLightFace: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 (0)
    FinalLightFace Done
    0 of 0 (0% of) surface lights went in leaf ambient cubes.
    ComputePerLeafAmbientLighting: 0...1...2...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10
    Ready to Finish

    Object names Objects/Maxobjs Memory / Maxmem Fullness
    ------------ --------------- --------------- --------
    models 1/1024 48/49152 ( 0.1%)
    brushes 6/8192 72/98304 ( 0.1%)
    brushsides 36/65536 288/524288 ( 0.1%)
    planes 40/65536 800/1310720 ( 0.1%)
    vertexes 77/65536 924/786432 ( 0.1%)
    nodes 55/65536 1760/2097152 ( 0.1%)
    texinfos 3/12288 216/884736 ( 0.0%)
    texdata 1/2048 32/65536 ( 0.0%)
    dispinfos 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_verts 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_tris 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    disp_lmsamples 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    faces 56/65536 3136/3670016 ( 0.1%)
    hdr faces 0/65536 0/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    origfaces 18/65536 1008/3670016 ( 0.0%)
    leaves 57/65536 1824/2097152 ( 0.1%)
    leaffaces 56/65536 112/131072 ( 0.1%)
    leafbrushes 16/65536 32/131072 ( 0.0%)
    areas 3/256 24/2048 ( 1.2%)
    surfedges 312/512000 1248/2048000 ( 0.1%)
    edges 181/256000 724/1024000 ( 0.1%)
    LDR worldlights 6/8192 528/720896 ( 0.1%)
    HDR worldlights 0/8192 0/720896 ( 0.0%)
    waterstrips 0/32768 0/327680 ( 0.0%)
    waterverts 0/65536 0/786432 ( 0.0%)
    waterindices 0/65536 0/131072 ( 0.0%)
    cubemapsamples 0/1024 0/16384 ( 0.0%)
    overlays 0/512 0/180224 ( 0.0%)
    LDR lightdata [variable] 95488/0 ( 0.0%)
    HDR lightdata [variable] 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    visdata [variable] 0/16777216 ( 0.0%)
    entdata [variable] 1045/393216 ( 0.3%)
    LDR leaf ambient 57/65536 1368/1572864 ( 0.1%)
    HDR leaf ambient 0/65536 0/1572864 ( 0.0%)
    occluders 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder polygons 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    occluder vert ind 0/0 0/0 ( 0.0%)
    detail props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    static props [variable] 1/12 ( 8.3%)
    pakfile [variable] 10002/0 ( 0.0%)

    Level flags = 0

    Win32 Specific Data:
    physics [variable] 2279/4194304 ( 0.1%)
    ==== Total Win32 BSP file data space used: 122960 bytes ====

    Total triangle count: 128
    Writing c:\documents and settings\owner\my documents\hl2 maps\test.bsp
    10 seconds elapsed

    ** Executing...
    ** Command: Copy File
    ** Parameters: "C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\hl2 maps\test.bsp" "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\SourceMods\TEST\maps\test.bsp"


    ** Executing...
    ** Command: "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\mickeyd202\half-life 2\hl2.exe"
    ** Parameters: -game "c:\program files\steam\steamapps\SourceMods\TEST" +map "test"

    and then nothing happens
     
  22. Event

    Event Guest

    You have a leak. Hammer can't determine which part of your map is the inside and which is the outside. After compiling go back to Hammer and select Map > Load Pointfile. It will draw a red line on your map showing you where the leak is. Make sure you unload the pointfile before compiling again.

    Here is more information if you are still stuck:
    http://forum.interlopers.net/viewtopic.php?t=2248
     
  23. mathisjr9

    mathisjr9 Guest

    alright, thanks I got it
     
  24. mchammer75040

    mchammer75040 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,008
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have a problem with opening the sdk everytrime i start it up i get this message:
    "MountFilesystem(221) falied:steam mountfile system (2364,221,0x1957fc74=,0x1957fd74) failed with error 106: failed to resize cache file"
    any help please?
     
  25. Lord Anubis

    Lord Anubis Guest

    Ok, so I try and add water to my map and it all looks good in hammer but when I test the map the water is invisible, it is there though. I can hear the splashing and when under the waters surface it looks fine, you just cant see it above the surface. I used a nodraw texture, topped it with a water texture, add a cube map and water_lod_contorl.
     
  26. click the camera button on the left and then click on one of the 2d views to 'create' the cam.

    Make sure there are no leaks and check your lighting.

    Now, I have a question... Every time I enter Source SDK, my settings for my mod dissapear. Also in hammer. I have tried reseting them manually but they only work once then disappear again...?
     
  27. SilentSmurf

    SilentSmurf Guest

    whenever i go to open the tools "no game configurations to run with" pops up. i apparently have to manually configure something but dont know where to go to do this. any help would be appreciated
     
  28. Ileman

    Ileman Guest

    i do not exactly know what the problem is

    When I compile & run my hl2 DM map, I get an error like this

    Failed to load launcher.dll

    Hammer has new configurations since the previous patch. It doesn't include a hl 2 dm configuration. Compile tools are orange box versions or something like that.

    Yes, I have orange box but Hammer worked before the previous patch. Must I get get the configurations manually or is the problem elsewhere?
     
  29. mrkool

    mrkool Guest

    i had the same problems it wouldnt run my maps then eventualy would not loads anything, i was told to put "-engine ep1" in the sdk launch options and now it works fine except a few things like my props wont work i try to select world model and it crashes :/ anyhelp?
     
  30. dannyreign

    dannyreign Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please excuse my retarded question, but I fail at finding the answer :stare:

    So, in Hammer, how do you pick a color to paint your walls with?
    In my case, I need to paint the whole map in green, and I can't find the color green in textures.

    Some help would be appreciated.
     
  31. Przemek

    Przemek Spy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a problem. I reinstalled all my Half-Life 2 games on a new computer and wanted to make some new maps and... SourceSDK fails to start! I double click it in Tools, a windows pops up saying "Preparing to launch SourceSDK..." and... it dissapears. I've tried redownloading the whole thing, including removing ClientRegistry.blob and it's still the same :(
    Please help.
     
  32. Brussells

    Brussells Guest

    have you tried setting Launch Options for SDK to:

    -engine ep1

    This worked for me
     
  33. 1sauber1

    1sauber1 Guest

    in hammer Every time i choose any prop and when i go to the world model and hit browse an error comes up that says:The instruction at "0x0e72915b" referenced memory at "0x0e72915b" The memory could not be "read", HALP!!!!
     
  34. Autumn Wind

    Autumn Wind Guest

    Just joined the boards and I have a question, all. I am trying to make a HL2 map and I want the player to be able to use more melee weapons than the crowbar, like the stunstick. Is there a way to do this? Also: I got it so that I can apparently have CS weapons in the game, but they won't actually place and seem to be unusable. Can anyone help me?
     
  35. tschumann

    tschumann Spy

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you want to add weapons in you need to program them. the stunstick source is already in the SourceSDK.
    if you want CS weapons in Half-Life 2 you'll need to program them as well because their source is not public. they aren't usable in-game because they aren't in the Half-Life 2 .dll files.
     
  36. Autumn Wind

    Autumn Wind Guest

    How does one go about programming in weapons? I saw a tut on it but it did not actually tell me how to do it. That or it failed miserably.
     
  37. Autumn Wind

    Autumn Wind Guest

    Another thing I am hoping to get working and have not attempted yet. I want to make an area that will create fire or an explosion every so many seconds. So it will happen, go away, then happen again. It is the repetition of the event that I think I will have trouble with. That or killing the fire. Any suggestions?
     
  38. tschumann

    tschumann Spy

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you know C++?
     
  39. Autumn Wind

    Autumn Wind Guest

    I remember some of the basics of C++ and could brush up on it pretty easy I think.
     
  40. tschumann

    tschumann Spy

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, look at the source code provided in the SourceSDK then make your own weapons by doing something similar to what's there.
    also, this site has a bit more info on how get it working completely.
     

Share This Page