Small bug in polls

Discussion in 'ValveTime Feedback' started by ZoFreX, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. ZoFreX

    ZoFreX Spy

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    1
  2. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,077
    Likes Received:
    718
    Woa, weird. I always just thought it was broken. Its been like that for me for as long as I can remember. I never type www in my urls, so I never realized it did actually work.
     
  3. Munro

    Munro ValveTime Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,746
    Likes Received:
    6
    Use www. then. Sorted!
     
  4. AtomicSpark

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Bad Munro!
     
  5. ríomhaire

    ríomhaire Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    20,876
    Likes Received:
    371
    Seeing as you guys actually do read this section it seems can I get an answer on the "forum policy" thread two threads down?
     
  6. ZoFreX

    ZoFreX Spy

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is exactly the situation I was in, but when they front-page'd the current poll I figured, it must be working for someone, and worked out why it wasn't working for me.
     
  7. Shem

    Shem The Freeman

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    123
    This might be the first time www. actually matters.
     
  8. ZoFreX

    ZoFreX Spy

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    1
    You appear to be running Apache, so have some codes: :p

    Code:
    RewriteEngine on
    rewritecond %{http_host} ^halflife2.net [nc]
    rewriterule ^(.*)$ http://www.halflife2.net/$1 [r=301,nc]
    * Of course a better solution would be to debug the javascript, but this is easier...
     
  9. Munro

    Munro ValveTime Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17,746
    Likes Received:
    6
    I still prefer the option of you adding www. to your bookmark :)
     
  10. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,077
    Likes Received:
    718
    I, for one don't usually use my bookmark. I just type "H" in the omni bar and Chrome handles it from there.
     
  11. ZoFreX

    ZoFreX Spy

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    1
    Personally I type URLs. Anyway, if you want some motivation, it's a best practice for content to only be available at a single canonical URL (or to use the link rel=canonical tag to indicate what the authoritative URL is). You may be penalised by search engines if this is not the case. What I'm saying is, adding those three lines to your Apache config will make your website rank higher in Google.
     
  12. Hectic Glenn

    Hectic Glenn Site Director
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,230
    Likes Received:
    178
    Makes a lot of sense ZoFrex, seems very logical and sensible indeed. However, that is not how we operate here. Think of something random, then think of something else random. Put them together and that is how we roll!
     
  13. Acepilotf14

    Acepilotf14 Sucked so much dick for this title

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,012
    Likes Received:
    42
    Are the poll background colors white for anyone else? It's jarring compared to the nice colors of the rest of the site and hard to read the text.
     
  14. Vegeta897

    Vegeta897 Banned as all fuck

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    26,147
    Likes Received:
    769
    Yeah, this has been like this since the new theme. Same with the code blocks in posts.
     

Share This Page