problem getting VTF in MDL

Discussion in 'Game Modifications' started by PudBawl, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. PudBawl

    PudBawl Guest

    Hey guys, be not intimidated by my massive number of posts, I'm really quite a nice guy.

    Here is the problem I'm having, I've got my model exported as an SMD and can convert it to an MDL and can view it with the pink and black checker board in the viewer or in hammer. I've got my texture TGA converted to a VTF and can apply it to objects other than my model in hammer. At the moment I'm just trying to have my model as a "prop_static", you know, just to get a grip on things before I start adding in it's animation and what not.

    Here is my base directory
    c:\program files\valve\steam\steamapps\pudbawl\half-life 2\hl2\

    VTF + VMT
    materials\walkerMat\walker.vmt
    materials\walkerMat\walker.vtf

    SMD + QC + MDL
    models\walker\walker.smd
    models\walker\walker.qc
    models\walker\walker.mdl <with all the other junk after I run studiomdl on the QC>

    Here is my QC file, I have not implemented a collision model yet
    $modelname walker\walker
    $cdmaterials walkerMat\
    $staticprop
    $scale 1.0
    $body studio walker.smd
    $sequence idle "walker" loop fps 30

    /*
    $collisionmodel "walker_phys.smd"{
    $Mass 100
    $concave
    }
    */


    Here is my VMT file
    "VertexLitGeneric"
    {
    "$basetexture" "walkerMat\walker"
    "$model" 1
    }

    Here are some images of the model I'm doing (note that the model is not mirrored in these images), once mirrored it is about 1200 polys.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Some0ne

    Some0ne Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    iv not read your entire post, but i can tell you one solution:
    use my programme found in the thread "HL2 Compile Toolkit" on this forum. read the 'how to use.txt' and use it to compile as it will sort all this shit out for you.

    oh and i just realised something wrong with your VMT file. the first line should read "VertexLitGeneric" instead of "UnlitGeneric". lol
     
  3. thereisaspoon

    thereisaspoon Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    $cdmaterials walkerMat\walker should be
    $cdmaterials walkerMat\ because the cdmaterials points to the fodler in which the .vmt file is in, not the vmt file itself

    and some1, u shoudlnt spam ur app in every "compile error" thread. it wont fix his problem, as the qc is messed.
     
  4. Some0ne

    Some0ne Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry man. it not so much that im trying to spam my app, its just that the whole correct folders thing is such a nuisance i prefer just to point ppl to my app to solve their probs.

    but i realise that in this case there is in fact something wrong with his qc and my prog would not fix that. from a glance it looked like it was to do with which folder it was in and which folder his vmt/qc was pointing to.

    anyway whats the con with my programme? wats wrong with notifying people of it? because i dont know if you've tried it but i cant see any reason not to use it, because its quicker
     
  5. PudBawl

    PudBawl Guest

    Still no dice. I have changed my QC and VMT files as directed (and edited my post above) but my MDL file is still untextured.

    I have tried your program and it appears to run but I get some sort of window that appears and disapears so quickly that I only have enough time to see a flicker of a title bar, I can't make out any errors and no files are created. I've tried the QC creator and following the directory structure it wants I get the same results as with my QC, just an MDL with no texture.
     
  6. Some0ne

    Some0ne Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think your $cdmaterials line should read:
    $cdmaterials "walker\"

    in my program; what are you doing to get the window, eg. the run compile script feature, and which options have you clicked?
     
  7. PudBawl

    PudBawl Guest

    I actually put it to $cdmaterials walkerMat\ because I have my material and VMT in a materials\walkerMat directory. I've just tried changing this to materials\walker and changed my $cdmaterials and I still get the untextured model. There aren't any updates to download that Steam doesn't download automatically are there?

    I used the options "compile Textures", "compile model" and I tried it with "copy to game folder" on and off.
     
  8. Some0ne

    Some0ne Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok im feeling helpful...you can send me the source files if you want and il do it for you, this is annoying me now.

    [email protected]
     
  9. PudBawl

    PudBawl Guest

    Hold on just a bit SomeOne, I've still got a few things I want to try before I give up.

    Is anybody out there using the Maya SMD exporter? In my Output Window I am getting a message saying "*** The following shaders did not export correctly:" and then whatever material I have on my object. Is this typical with the exporter or could this be what is causing my problem?
     
  10. thereisaspoon

    thereisaspoon Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont use maya for modding, but im pretty sure the model is looking in the wrong folder. make sure that the color map is named walker or the vmt is named after the color map.
     
  11. PudBawl

    PudBawl Guest

    Hey guys, thanks for your help.

    As it turns out the maya exporter was not creating the SMD correctly. During the export process it looked for a directory that didn't exist and left out some sort of important material/texture info. I now have that directory and my model can now be textured.

    Thanks again for your help.
     

Share This Page