PC Unable to identify private home network?

Discussion in 'Hardware & Software' started by Malfunction, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. Malfunction

    Malfunction Newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have my cable modem and wireless router sitting in front of me. My router has ethernet cables running into my PC, my brother's PC, and a room upstairs. For some unknown reason, my brother's PC stopped receiving his internet connection today. When I go to look at his Network listing and whatnot on his PC, it is unable to identify our home network. It appears that the physical connection from my router to his PC is completely fine, but something is preventing him from reading my network.

    Now, if this matters at all, I'm running on a D-Link wireless router, secured with WPA2. Now, this shouldn't even matter at all, being we're connected through ethernet cables, but I figured I should mention it anyway. According to his device manager, his onboard network adapter is running fine.

    Any ideas? I went into his Windows (Vista Home Premium btw) network settings and enabled "Network Discovery," but that hasn't done anything to help. We're on the verge of swapping his ethernet cable with the one running upstairs on the off-chance that it might fix anything.

    :/
     
  2. No Limit

    No Limit Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you go to your command prompt and type ipconfig /all then paste the results here?
     
  3. Malfunction

    Malfunction Newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you want my ipconfig or my brother's? Anyway, here's mine:

    Code:
    Windows IP Configuration
    
       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Stephen-PC
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller #2
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-4B-05-6E-58
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::bcad:6a90:fbea:58ed%9(Preferred)
       IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.133(Preferred)
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.29.103.15
                                           24.29.103.16
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : si.rr.com
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-4B-05-6E-59
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{36902B9B-219E-439D-9B33-540C1E709
    F71}
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.133%12(Preferred)
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
       DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.29.103.15
                                           24.29.103.16
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.si.rr.com
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    My brother's ipconfig seems to show some weird characters/symbols for his DNS Servers. Earlier I tried manually setting his IPv4 DNS servers to the same ones that I'm using, but that got me nowhere.

    FYI, I googled this problem and apparently tons of other people have the same issue and so far there is no quick fix. I tried a lot of different suggestions, but so far none have worked. I'll be buying him a PCI Network Adapter tomorrow, so hopefully that will fix this. :sniper:
     
  4. Adabiviak

    Adabiviak Space Core

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    12
    ...without parsing all that code, his domain didn't change (MSHOME, or the like)?
     
  5. Malfunction

    Malfunction Newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Care to simplify that bit? I've never been all that good with networking.
     
  6. Adabiviak

    Adabiviak Space Core

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    12
    ...skip it. It's related to networking, not sharing an Internet connection. I was wondering if your computers were on the same workgroup. They don't need to be to share the connection.

    edit - I notice that the connection that appears to be connected (Local Area Connection 2) has DHCP turned off, which is not usually the case with routers of this nature, unless someone specifically set static IP addresses. I'm not sure what 'Autoconfiguration' entails though.
     
  7. Malfunction

    Malfunction Newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set a static IP on my box for port forwarding purposes, but we've never had any trouble before.

    Anyway, I came home from school today to find a note from my brother (now at work) telling me that his connection came back, and that he'll explain what happened to me later. I'll post the results here later, haha. Thanks for the help guys!
     
  8. Malfunction

    Malfunction Newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, my brother told me that he just tried shutting down his power strip, and then turning it back on. Somehow, this fixed his problem. Sometimes I just f*cking hate computers. /fp
     

Share This Page