Need a new 'old' graphics card

Discussion in 'Hardware & Software' started by DEATHMASTER, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. DEATHMASTER The Freeman

    Member Since:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Message Count:
    12,936
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Location:
    Maryland
    So the good old bfg 7950gt oc finally crapped out since I forgot to install rivatuner to keep it from overheating after giving my old computer to my bro. So it's artifacting constantly now and games just don't work (starting yesterday, it won't even boot into windows without BSOD). I installed an old nvidia 6800 for now and it's working fine but it can't even play Mass Effect. So I'm in the market for something compatible with the old pc:

    AMD 3800+ X2
    1.5gig ddr1 ram
    550w (38a on 12v)
    pci-express

    Card can't be too long (more than 8").

    Basically looking to play games as new as Mass Effect 2. With the 6800, the first Mass Effect is a slideshow in outdoor environments (min settings).
  2. unozero Tank

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,474
    Trophy Points:
    52
    I have a GTX260 that I could send you for free.It's just collecting dust.
  3. DEATHMASTER The Freeman

    Member Since:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Message Count:
    12,936
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Location:
    Maryland
  4. unozero Tank

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,474
    Trophy Points:
    52
  5. DEATHMASTER The Freeman

    Member Since:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Message Count:
    12,936
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yeah that looks pretty good, performs similarly to my old 7950 too.
  6. unozero Tank

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,474
    Trophy Points:
    52
    aight PM me ur address.I sadly won't be able to test them first but they've been sitting under my desk so they should be good.
    I'll send it on Friday.
  7. Dog-- The Freeman

    Member Since:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Message Count:
    9,859
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Wow, this is Christmas spirit. Congrats on the GFX card DEATHMASTER, and good job unozero!
  8. Higlac Companion Cube

    Member Since:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Message Count:
    2,446
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Schrodinger's AFK
    ITT we learn that Christmas isn't dead and people are actually awesome.
  9. Member Since:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Message Count:
    1,710
    Trophy Points:
    52
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I just came to say that you are awesome unozero!
    Merry Christmas both of you!
  10. unozero Tank

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,474
    Trophy Points:
    52
    gonna be running late with shipping it I worked 10 hours today.I''l try to get it off on the way too work in the morning,Monday morning at the latest.Promised.
  11. DEATHMASTER The Freeman

    Member Since:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Message Count:
    12,936
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Location:
    Maryland
    No rush dude.
  12. unozero Tank

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,474
    Trophy Points:
    52
    34079428324165648901093.jpg

    just need to drop it off at UPS.
  13. unozero Tank

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,474
    Trophy Points:
    52
    UPs said you should have it on Tuesday Morning DeathMaster
  14. DEATHMASTER The Freeman

    Member Since:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Message Count:
    12,936
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'll update when I have it.
  15. DEATHMASTER The Freeman

    Member Since:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Message Count:
    12,936
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Location:
    Maryland
    I got the package. I'm guessing I'll need new thermal paste for the processor? (Uno also sent an AMD 6000+ X2).
    The graphics card works great! How much vram is it supposed to have? dxdiag tells me 1gb.
  16. unozero Tank

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,474
    Trophy Points:
    52
    I'm not sure it's been so long iirc it was either 512mb or 768mb
    glad you got the package!
  17. Damic Spy

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Message Count:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Belgium
  18. unozero Tank

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,474
    Trophy Points:
    52
    ur right 256mb does make more sense for that time period.