LFD2 and TF2 crash on start.

Discussion in 'Left 4 Dead' started by IChewExtra, Jan 21, 2014.

  1. IChewExtra

    IChewExtra Sandvich

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I wanted to play LFD2 with a friend so I clicked play. It crashed not even 10 seconds after starting. Did the verify cache thingy, still didnt work. Deleted and reinstalled, still didnt work. So I downloaded and installed TF2 because its by the same comoany. ANd what do ya know, crashed just as fast.
    I would like help, I know its not my computer because its so much better then needed for these games, and my card is up to date driver wise
     
  2. Gemini

    Gemini Spy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Did it work before, or was it crashing since the first time you tried it ?
     
  3. IChewExtra

    IChewExtra Sandvich

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It worked on my old computer, but since I upgraded everything even the hard drive yesterday was the first time I tried to play it. So it's been crashing since first time you could say.
     
  4. SteamEmpire

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Does it give you an error message like "hl2.exe has stopped working" or does it just disappear?
     
  5. IChewExtra

    IChewExtra Sandvich

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    "left4dead2.exe has stopped working" and I just uninstalled steam off my computer, redownloaded steam, then redownloaded left 4 dead and same thing
     
  6. SteamEmpire

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    try launching any other source game or game in general. if nothing works its not a steam related issue, I'll try looking into it
     
  7. IChewExtra

    IChewExtra Sandvich

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    BioShock Infinite worked just fine. TF2 crashed just like LFD2
     
  8. SteamEmpire

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hmm, well that narrows it down to source games only. whats your computer specs?
     
  9. IChewExtra

    IChewExtra Sandvich

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Video Card's a 770
    CPU's an i7-3770k @ 3.5 ghz
    16 gigs of some ram, dont know the exact model
    a fatal1ty z77 motherboard
    So I can run anything I want, but the valve games just wont load.
    I know my video card drivers are up to date.
     
  10. SteamEmpire

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Looks like most people with this problem has a problem with drivers or background programs that messes with directx

    put -dxlevel 81 in the game start up
    If that doesn't work ill have to keep looking
    also have source games worked on this computer before or haven't you tried before now?
     
  11. IChewExtra

    IChewExtra Sandvich

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    "-dxlevel 81" Still didn't let the game load. And no, this is the first source game I've tried on this computer, it's all relatively new hardware.
     
  12. SteamEmpire

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yeah the only thing I can find is that its problems with directx.
    Try manually installing it from here
     
  13. IChewExtra

    IChewExtra Sandvich

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot about this place but I opened the nvidia control panel and reset the global settings from maxed out everything to default and boom. Loaded right up, thanks for spending the time trying to help.
     

Share This Page