Is your PC ready for Half life 2?

Discussion in 'Half-Life' started by Intel17, Jul 5, 2004.

?
  1. Hell yeah, full detail here I come

    199 vote(s)
    44.9%
  2. I guess it will play HL2 acceptably..

    179 vote(s)
    40.4%
  3. No, My PC doesn't meet the minnimum requirements

    19 vote(s)
    4.3%
  4. I will be before the game comes out

    46 vote(s)
    10.4%
  1. Intel17

    Intel17 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, since HL2 is so close, I figured it would be cool to get an idea of everyones sysytem specs!

    My specs:

    P4 [email protected] 3.0GHz
    Abit IS7 (not the best mobo, but it works)
    1gig of crucial ram
    Radeon 9800 pro 256 (should handle them shaders well :))

    So I think Im ready for HL2 :)
     
  2. Hazar

    Hazar Tank

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    My specs:

    AMD Athlon 2700+
    Shuttle Ak 39N
    512 Mb 2700 ram
    GeForce 4 mx440 128Mb video card

    It's defenitly serviceable but very good for the price of $650

    I think I'm going to get some more ram though.
     
  3. Dsty2001

    Dsty2001 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right now I have a crappy computer, but soon I should have this

    AMD Athlon XP 2700+, 333MHz FSB, 256K Cache Processor
    512MB PC-2700 DDR RAM
    ATI Radeon 9600SE 128MB DDR AGP Video Card
    Western Digital 160GB UDMA/100 7200RPM 2MB IDE HDD
    DELL M991 19" (18" View) 1600x1200 UXGA .26mm Black CRT Monitor
    NForce2 Motherboard
    Case with 450W Power Supply

    all that for $600 :)
     
  4. Paintballer

    Paintballer Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Athlon XP 2400+ @ 355MHZ FSB
    512mb DDR @ 355MHZ
    80GB 7200RPM HD
    Geforce FX5900 128MB

    I'm ready to go, full detail baby :bounce:
     
  5. brink's

    brink's Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    P4 3.2G
    1024mb ram kingston
    9600pro

    but ill have a x800 before HL2 hits the shelfs
     
  6. Shuzer

    Shuzer Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Athlon XP 2500+ OCed to 2.24GHz
    Radeon 9700 OCed to Pro
    1GB PC2700 DDR SDRAM

    I'm all OCed and ready!
     
  7. Subatomic

    Subatomic Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read profile

    I hope to get full detail, 1600x1200... if not 1024x768 will be fine!
     
  8. x84D80Yx

    x84D80Yx Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    am i only one seeing this thread being a 5 page list of computer stats? IMO this should be in the hardware forum.

    not tryin to be harsh on that, just speaking my mind.
     
  9. ailevation

    ailevation Don't toke Sour Diesel

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,908
    Likes Received:
    0
    :cheers: Hell yeah mine is.

    2.8C(going to upgrade to 3.4C in August)
    P4SD-VX from Asus
    512 DDR PC-2700 Ram(Cheap ass Infineon, upgrade to 1 Gig or something from OCZ or Corsair)
    9800 Pro(upgrading to Radeon x800 XT or Geforce 6800 Ultra, which ever I get my hands on first- most likely the Radeon)
     
  10. Estevan

    Estevan Newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes..........
     
  11. Intel17

    Intel17 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man I cant wait! Half Life 2 should look SwEEt when it comes out and it will look wicked good on lotsa different hardware configs!
     
  12. Tiddalick

    Tiddalick Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeppys, I am ready
     
  13. GhostBoi

    GhostBoi Spy

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    My gfx card aint ready yet but it will be...

    Athlon XP 2800+
    512 mb RAM 2700
    nVidia GeForce 4 MX 440<-----LOL
     
  14. Intel17

    Intel17 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GhostBoi, what gfx card do you plan on upgrading to?
     
  15. GhostBoi

    GhostBoi Spy

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    This one right here should handle it.
     
  16. FoxDie

    FoxDie Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine should be able to handle it acceptably:

    P4 @ 2.00 GHZ (wish that was faster :p)
    512MB RAM (Second stick of 256 on the way from Newegg :D)
    ATI Radeon 9600 XT

    I was going to buy a new computer, but I need money for other things right now :(
     
  17. VeZ

    VeZ Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    a64 3000+
    512 pc 3200 ram
    ti 4200

    hoping that should give me atleast medium details till i get a gfx card around xmas time...
     
  18. A|2SENIC

    A|2SENIC Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pentium 4 3.21 GHz
    2.00 GB of RAM
    GeForce 5900 Ultra 256mb
     
  19. coleslawjoe

    coleslawjoe Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    High Detail Ahoy!
    Athlon XP 2000+ (Soon to be 3200+)
    512 MB RAM PC3200 (Soon to be 1 GB)
    ASUS A7N8X Deluxe Rev 2.0
    ASUS Radeon 9800xt

    All i have to do now is optimize it so i can play at 6x AA, 16x AF
     
  20. Patten

    Patten Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing i really need to upgrade is my video card.

    My specs are as follows:
    AMD 2800+ o.c. to about 2.5 GHz (been a while since i checked what i was running it at)
    MSI K7N2 delta mobo
    768 pc2700 ram o.c. to match my processor
    GeForce 3 ti200 w/ 128 memory, i sometimes overclock it to play certain games but then put it back to normal because the wee little fan can't keep it cool for that long
    and all the other stuff pretty much dosn't effect games so i won't list it but it is in there.
     
  21. another-user

    another-user Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    amd64 3200+
    x800pro
    1gig kingston hyper-x pc4000
    160gig western digital
    msi k8t neo fis2r
    xaser 3 (black)
    z680 with 14 guage monster cable and a MC optic cable

    if i cant run hl2 at max res, with medium-high aa/af im gonna be a little pissed. i can run farcry at 1024x768 6X/16X aa/af no problem, i should be able to do about the same with hl2
     
  22. MrWhite

    MrWhite Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    computer cant run it now, but for my birthday I have an Athlon XP 3000+ (barton) and new mobo coming, ... aswell as a new case and PSU

    ordered form newegg

    And im working for an x800 XT

    I'm keeping my drives, hardrive and 768 mb DDR/SD RAM
     
  23. ShinRa

    ShinRa Companion Cube

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,044
    Likes Received:
    63
    read sig

    ||||
    VVV
     
  24. GunPlay

    GunPlay Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did you get all of that for $600?
     
  25. Driftlight

    Driftlight Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    My brand new, badass laptop should handle HL2 just fine. UT2k4 runs like a dream.

    Pentium M 2.0 Ghz processor
    1 gig of RAM
    Radeon 9600, 128 MB

    It's so nice, especially compared my old comp which has a GeForce 2 and 256 mb or RAM. Proccy is okay at 2 Ghz, though I think this Pentium M performs better.
     
  26. Stigmata

    Stigmata The Freeman

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    15,915
    Likes Received:
    326
    Meh. My computer will run it acceptably, but not great.

    AMD AthlonXP 1800+ @ 1.53GHz
    512MB PC1700 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon 8500LE 128MB
    20GB 5200RPM HDD
    Some random motherboard that has Socket A, AGP 4x, three RAM slots and integrated sound :(

    *Planning to get a job soon, to make enough money to buy myself a new system.
     
  27. Xelnein

    Xelnein Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Amd xp2000+ (1.67ghz)
    MSI KT400 Ultra FISR
    1Gb 2700 ddr, [just gave 512 to my sister 8*( yesterday, was 1.5.. not .5 now]
    sapphire 9800

    i said acceptably., it should run... if it gets delayed until september then i may upgrade the cpu, mobo, ram, vid.. well, all of that, i guess, and keep the case/everything else.
    good luck to me.
     
  28. Mr.SqueeZ

    Mr.SqueeZ Guest

    amd athlon 1800+:(
    gf4 ti 4600 pro
    120 gig hardrive
    512 ddr ram
    asus a7v333 mobo :frown:

    I goana upgrade my cpu and mobo:)
     
  29. Intel17

    Intel17 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should run full detail on that...
     
  30. Tork

    Tork Guest

    Beyond ready..
     
  31. Roland Deschain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Intel 3.0
    1024 RAM
    9800 Pro

    Half Life 2 come to me!!!!!!!
     
  32. ShinRa

    ShinRa Companion Cube

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,044
    Likes Received:
    63
    power to the fx-53 owners baby :thumbs: :bounce: :cheers:
     
  33. Dsty2001

    Dsty2001 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0


    ComputerGeeks.com, Newegg.com
    ComputerGeeks & NewEgg is your friend :)
     
  34. Kazuki_Fuse

    Kazuki_Fuse Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Specs for my main computer are:

    AMD XP3000+
    1 gig of kingston ram
    Powercolor X800Pro
    gigabyte K7NNXP MoBo
    150 Remote TDK Tremor Speakers
    19" Flat Phillips 109B Monitor.

    My other computer is a:

    AMD XP2000+
    1 gig of generic ram
    Powercolor Radeon 9800Pro
    gigabyte K7NNXP MoBo
    17" Flat Samsung monitor.
    Generic Speakers.

    All ready to go for some HL2 network........mmmmm....
     
  35. crownest

    crownest Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    My specs are:

    Windows XP
    AMD Althon XP2000+ 1.6GHz (1664 MHz)
    GeForce FX 5700 Ultra 128MB
    SB Audigy Gamer
    512MB RAM
    Samsung SyncMaster 151v LCD
    MSI nForce 2 K7N2-L

    Well i think i should be able to get a decent framerate at high detail, but maybe without AA/AF, but that doesnt bother me at all. ;)

    You guys know what hardware i should upgrade to get even better performance? Those Radeon 9800 Pros are really cheap at the moment, however i dont feel like getting a new gfx cards since i got my 5700 in mid-october last year.

    Hey disabling Vertical Sync (a.k.a Video Sync) will help increase framerates, this is good for those lower-end CPU users :)
     
  36. Sanius

    Sanius Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    athlon xp 2500+
    512 mb kingston pc-2700 ram
    Geforce 2 mx

    yeah, I need to upgrade my video card. I will soon. :|
     
  37. Sai

    Sai Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a geforce fx 5200.....need i say more?
     
  38. Roadkill

    Roadkill Guest

    Athalon XP 2400+
    1 Gig DDR RAM
    X800 Pro 256MB
    5.1 Logitech THX speakers

    The only real thing that needs upgrading is my damn monitor. Sometimes it goes all fuzzy and crap. Heh..maybe it'll die on me, so then I'll have to buy a new one, instead of me just sitting around thinking if I should. :p
     
  39. hype.db

    hype.db Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    P4 3.0C
    ABIT IS7
    Audigy Gamer-X
    Radeon 9800Pro 256mb
    1 Gig Kingston HyperX 3200 DDR
    Logitech z560's
    SONY MDRV700

    Should be ready.
     
  40. Computer5k

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a GeForce FX 5500, turn detail down a little and it'll run on 1024x768.
     

Share This Page