HL1 for HL2 leaked?

Discussion in 'Half-Life' started by PainLord, Oct 10, 2003.

  1. PainLord

    PainLord Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    October 9. 2003 ]

    Half-Life 2 - Half-Life 1 & Counter-Strike
    Company: Valve Corporation ( http://www.valvesoftware.com )
    File size: 31 x 15MB
    Release: Unknown


    |
    | Well, this one here is Half-Life and Counter-Strike for
    | Half-Life 2, so there already is something to play with and try
    | to get working in multiplayer. Hurry, I wanna play
    |
    | - Anonymous leaker aka. Osama bin Leaker


    | Regarding Half.Life.2.Beta.Patch1-ANON.tar:
    | Ok, the last release was my mistake. I thought I didn't
    | integrate these patches yet, but that was proved being wrong.
    | Sorry for the non working patches, i didnt intend to waste all
    | this precious bandwidth.
    |
    | Regarding Half.Life.2.Pre.Gold-ANON:
    | This is fake, and I will never give out info about my releases
    | in public.

    http://www.coe.uncc.edu/~dmarkham/HL2Images/Hl1Modded/
    _________________
     
  2. un0x

    un0x Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes.

    so?
     
  3. mallet

    mallet Guest

    Ooh, something new!?
    Oh, hang on.....
     
  4. Dagobert

    Dagobert Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Contains full HL1 in source, with CS and TFC.
     
  5. bertusavius

    bertusavius Guest

    Welcome to the day before yesterday man.
     
  6. cpu killer

    cpu killer Guest

    Huh, wait, what exactly is this - hl1 using the hl2 engine???
    Looks awesome..
    Explanation? (yes, im a slow half-retarded person..)
     
  7. AU StangGT

    AU StangGT Guest

    You saying that the hl2 code has the hl1 code in it too? Well LA-DE-FREAKIN-DA!! That's like someone releasing the Quake 2 source code. Only the PII owners get a boner over that.

    NOW, If someone has managed to re-compile the entire first half-life game using the new engine, models, textures, physics etc, then yes, that would rule like O'Doyle.
     
  8. Dagobert

    Dagobert Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone has, and that somone is Valve. Read the Valve info thread, Gabe confirmed that this is the case, and the build has been leaked.
     
  9. ASnogarD

    ASnogarD Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if I bought HL 2 I would of got HL 1 and CS 1, running on the source engine as well as my HL 2 ?

    Kewl :)
     
  10. Gunner

    Gunner Tank

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    edit: I forgot you cant post pics... nevermind.
     
  11. ReZeroX

    ReZeroX Guest

    haha! i clicked it before u edited! i am teh l337!

    heh, nm. so then thats ur SS para? or u just find it? it looks niceeeee.
     
  12. azz0r

    azz0r Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is a wicked idea, however it doesnt mean much because the maps are still ugly, unless someone remakes the hl1 maps to use the new barney and scientist models and dx9 effects.
     
  13. You'd have thought that if Valve had the time to compile the HL1 maps in Source they would have replaced the textures with higher-resolution images. Or maybe they have/are doing so/intend to (this is a leaked copy after all). They had to replace all of the entities manually (Mr. Newell said so himself) and I can't imagine it would take someone too long given the original textures and a copy of Photoshop. I'm quite impressed though, and had this remained a secret until the official release it would have surprised a lot of people (including me).
     
  14. azz0r

    azz0r Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldnt be to suprised if they handed it over to a mod team, ala the co-op.
     
  15. lotusandy

    lotusandy Guest

    the HL1 in source was done to test the import functions of the new editor, so that mod makers wouldnt have to start from scratch with HL2 mods.

    Valve didnt waste time making new textures as that would defeat the point, plus it would be a waste of time.
     
  16. MrBozo

    MrBozo Guest

    This is a very nice move by valve. It means you'll get both HL1 and HL2 when you buy HL2 (or maybe it'll only be available in that "extended" version of HL2?). Oh and some maps have been reworked a bit. I'd post screenies if I could...

    HOORAY FOR VALVE.
     
  17. Dagobert

    Dagobert Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dur - I expext Valve kept the original high-res versions of the HL1 maps. texture artists generally work at high-res and then go down to in-game res.
     
  18. Gunner

    Gunner Tank

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks : )

    It's mine, I have a load of screens if you want an avatar just pm me.
     

Share This Page