Help For Hf2

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by jeff213, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. jeff213

    jeff213 Guest

    I have recently purchased the game: Half Life 2 with an expectation that it would run fine on my computer. This does NOT seem to be the case. If there are any experts in the field of HF2 that have encounter this problem or know of a solution, plz reply to this post.

    Whenever i start the game, it seems to work fine but when i reach a point in the game where it loads the next section, my computer locks up, freezes and then restarts after a couple of minutes. Initially i thought it might be a problem related to the graphics card overheating, but all the fans seem to be working fine and all. I have installed the latest drivers for my card as well.

    The specifications of my computer are below:

    1 gig of ram
    Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 [email protected] ghz

    nvidia geforce 7900 GS graphics card which has :

    Forecware verison: 163.71
    Memory: 256 MB
    Video BIOS version: 5.71.22.41.05
    IRQ: 16
    Bus: PCI Express x16
     
  2. Druckles

    Druckles Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's HL2 btw, just before you continue making that vital error.

    The first thing I would have suggested is the drivers being out of date (heh, sound like a piece of food), but if you've installed the latest drivers, then evidently this is not the case.

    I hear the Valve's support for nVidia is not optimum either.

    But judging from your memory, I'd almost certainly say that's the problem. 256MB is the minimum required to play, but that is the minimum.
    Try turning all of the settings to the minimum, that should theoretically solve your problem.

    And then buy more memory. I don't think I've ever used a computer with less than 512MB in like over 5 years!
    Seriously, get lots of memory.
     
  3. Jintor

    Jintor Didn't Get Temp-Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,783
    Likes Received:
    10
    Isn't that the memory on his Graphics Card though? I thought the 256mB minimum was the RAM, which he's got a gig of.
     
  4. Dekstar

    Dekstar Companion Cube

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,435
    Likes Received:
    11
    I would suggest verifying the integrity of your game cache, which is done by:
    Right click the steam icon in your task bar (bottom right) and select games (alternatively just open steam and go to the games tab).
    Right click Half-life2 and click "properties". In the 'Local Files' tab there's the button for "Verify integrity of game cache". click it, let it work.
     
  5. Druckles

    Druckles Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks, I just totally read that wrong.

    Wondered how the hell he could have 256MB of RAM :p
     
  6. Forceflow

    Forceflow Spy

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a plethora of causes ...

    • DirectX version up-to-date ?
    • All drivers (motherboard, sound, video) up to date ?
    • Try launching it without sound, to see whether or not sound is causing problems: add -nosound to launch options
    • Any logs in the windows logging thingy (The management console) ?
     
  7. Beerdude26

    Beerdude26 Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,359
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Laivasse

    Laivasse Companion Cube

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    27
    Right click the game, go to properties, then launch options and add '-heapsize 512000' (no quotes), see if that helps.
     
  9. Acepilotf14

    Acepilotf14 Sucked so much dick for this title

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,012
    Likes Received:
    42
    I think he left.
     
  10. jeff213

    jeff213 Guest

    reply

    People, i have the latest direct x version installed on my pc (i think its 9.0c). My drivers are all up to date. I just ran the steam diagnostics test before and it was strange because it says my drivers are out of date and its very severe. Considering this, i tried to download the recommended version (which was 91.47 when i have 163.75 so i was getting an old crummy version) and i ran the test again to see that it passed. Then i ran the game again and *obviousy* with a crappy driver it didn't work as well (it was even worse).

    As well as this, sometimes when it freezes, two dialogue boxes pop up. On mentions something about direct x 3d and the other one states that some error has occurred, and it states some numbers.

    guys PLZ HELP MEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!
     
  11. Beerdude26

    Beerdude26 Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, Direct3D is (in short) a pack of files that your graphics card uses to run games. Try reinstalling DirectX, because it may have become corrupted.
     
  12. jpventoso

    jpventoso Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are overclocking your card, try it again with the factory settings. Did you see any artifacts during the game? Sound stutters? Disk fragmentation? Bad memory sector?

    Did you get a blue screen of death sometime on Windows?
     
  13. jeff213

    jeff213 Guest

    reply

    someone asked whether or not i found any other abnormalities. Well when i try to load a saved game the sound stutters ALOT for about 8 seconds. This often occurs often. :( Does this help to work out the problem?
     
  14. Druckles

    Druckles Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    It might be to do with an onboard sound card. I had a severe sound stuttering problem with an older PC. It didn't crash the game though, so I'm thinking it's your graphics card/drivers/direct x
     

Share This Page