Halflife2 Build verison...

Discussion in 'Half-Life' started by Robert, Jul 1, 2003.

  1. Robert

    Robert Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know why im posting this, or if someone else has post it/ notice it..

    well i watched the hl2 25 min long video and i saw this coming up after changing " video "



    It's kinda cool that they still have that " text " as they have in HL1.

    I think the text says " Half-Life 2/3.0.1.0 ( build 2391 ) or something :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Xtasy0

    Xtasy0 Guest

    noticed it, but didnt bother stopping the video and zooming to try and read it or anything, most games have a version/build number in the corner.
     
  3. simmo

    simmo Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you notice the loading times tho ?, they where quick!
     
  4. Robert

    Robert Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe because the fast pc ;) But yeah, they were fast o_O

    But now we know what version of hl2 they had in the E3 videos ;)
     
  5. righte0us

    righte0us Newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    heh, nice :thumbs:
     
  6. jhero

    jhero Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, wasnt the e³ videos just videos...maybe they edited the demos so that loading seems minimal...
     
  7. DuncanIdahoTPF

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dunno, for the size of some of the enviroments loaded (like the dune sea and the scene with the striders), it loaded very fast.
     
  8. jhero

    jhero Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    like i said, twas a video -people edit videos, i could also be wrong though
     
  9. Robert

    Robert Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    ffs it was a video.. And they have recorded in-game and then make it to an .mov file :)
     
  10. Tull91

    Tull91 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm...how many builds is it usually in games? could it be possible to see how far the production has gone by checking the build-versions? Im having a minor brainstorm here...if this was a "mid-stage" build imagine how far it has gone til now.....
    *me tired...
     
  11. GOoch

    GOoch Guest

    Thats probs what the press bloke noticed when ValVe had the press day just before E3.:)
    Hmm but he stated it was a date .? makeing it out to Be September..
     
  12. lePobz

    lePobz Tank

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    In one of the GamesDevs interview videos I saw source running on a machine, Gabe loaded a map from the console window and it loaded in a matter of seconds, so the loading times aren't 'edited' for the movies.
     
  13. UndeadScottsman

    UndeadScottsman Vortigaunt

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    10
    Actually, didn't Gabe mention they specificly set the demo up to load the entire thing into memory (Of which the machine had a gig or more?) so they wouldn't have any delays during the various demos?

    Sincerely,
    Jeremy Dunn
     
  14. Xtasy0

    Xtasy0 Guest

    yep he did.
     
  15. It was a demo running on one gig of ram.
     
  16. Dagobert

    Dagobert Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    So those load times are completely unrepresentative.

    Although, shouldn't we all have a gig of ra really?
     
  17. poseyjmac

    poseyjmac Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,766
    Likes Received:
    0
    you would see a slight improvement with 1 gig of ram as opposed to 512. but not enough to warrant buying another 512 stick.
     
  18. _-_-SELAS-_-_

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    w00tI didnt know that!!! I have a gig of ram. Also geeK nice find m8 u get a point in my book :) This is the thread of the day
     
  19. _-_-SELAS-_-_

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    If I understand it correctly, the loading times will be wastly improved by 1024, so that the game doesnt have 2 load very much from map to map but can find it all in the memory wich takes seconds, instead of from the sloooow Harddrive. But yes gameplay itself doesnt usually win much from 1024 over 512.
     
  20. jhero

    jhero Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow, way of bringing back an old thread :p
     
  21. Headwires

    Headwires Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have 256 megs of ram. will i need more?
     
  22. _-_-SELAS-_-_

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    You dont NEED more but more would be very good I would suggest a 512 block..
     
  23. Reaper

    Reaper Guest

    in one of the tech moviez(wall.mpg) you can see for seconds the hl2 steam style:
     
  24. -Yo-

    -Yo- Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    You said it, no me :cheese:
     
  25. Inflatable

    Inflatable Guest

    Yup, that's probably the HL2 menu.. You can also see it in the pics from the Valve presentation at the ATi's shaders day..
     
  26. Headwires

    Headwires Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    not a very good background for hl2, must be place holder ;)
     
  27. droper

    droper Guest

    hmm interesting now i have the build number. how useless.
     
  28. |\/|oDdiC(_)$

    |\/|oDdiC(_)$ Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    i like that background for HL2, but i might have to tweak it to my likeing, like putting alyx on there with nothing but a g-string lol :monkee:
     

Share This Page