Doom3 Console Commands

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by Dr. Freeman, Aug 5, 2004.

  1. Dr. Freeman

    Dr. Freeman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    hold down Ctrl, Alt, and the key to the left of 1 (the console button for hl/cs)

    Once you're in the console type 'com_allowConsole 1' so you can access the console via the ~ button instead of having to hold down ctrl and alt too.




    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Gorgon i hope ur not too upset at me copying ur post and making a new thread about it.

    i had seen ur post before but couldn't remember which thread it was in and such and it was a pain to find it honestly.. :(

    anyway can one of the staff/mod members please sticky this thread so its easier for pple to find the list of commands? Please? thank u :)

    if anyone has a command to add to this thread, please do so.. but try and keep it to relevant info only, please. :)
     
  2. Dr. Freeman

    Dr. Freeman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    just noticed u had a second post of console commands as well..
    here it is.

     
  3. The Dark Elf

    The Dark Elf Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    16,082
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thats not all of them, where's the com_ r_ g_ etc. commands?

    there's a r_hdr group of commands in there too did ya know. Not messed with it yet though
     
  4. Dr. Freeman

    Dr. Freeman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not saying these are all the commands.
    even i posted saying that if anyone knows any other commands, to please add them here. :)

    Elf while ur here, can u sticky the thread please? :thumbs:
     
  5. The Dark Elf

    The Dark Elf Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    16,082
    Likes Received:
    2
    sticked. I was gonna sticky it anyway but forgot, cheers for the reminder.

    To get the commands in the console I just type the first letter then hit TAB to get a list of them, then scroll button up or down or page up or down to go through them all. Some interesting commands, though don't mess much with the render one, i broke it briefly messing with that ;)
     
  6. Warbie

    Warbie Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    10,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know the command to set the max fps?
     
  7. lePobz

    lePobz Tank

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://cheats.gamespot.com/469881-Doom-3

    I found this lastnight, useful for the monster spawns etc, although the cacodemon spawn doesnt work and they missed cherub off the list.

    They also explain how to find that secret place that I found, to get that ID pda. Seems like there aren't any other major secrets if this is the only one that is being listed everywhere.
     
  8. CrazyHarij

    CrazyHarij Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    10,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    timescale

    It changes the time, default is 1 , if you put it below, like 0.5 or 0.25 you get slow-motion, put it above and it'll go faster. :)
     
  9. lePobz

    lePobz Tank

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    map testmaps/test_boxstack

    Just tried this one, and all I can say is... WOAH!!! SWEET!!!! :D
     
  10. Javert

    Javert Tank

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do you access console? Should put that on the top of the post.
    Ctrl+Alt+~ right?
     
  11. Gorgon

    Gorgon Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. lePobz

    lePobz Tank

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah... hold down Ctrl, Alt, and the key to the left of 1 (the console button for hl/cs)

    Once you're in the console type 'com_allowConsole 1' so you can access the console via the ~ button instead of having to hold down ctrl and alt too.
     
  13. blahblahblah

    blahblahblah Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    boxstack is awesome.
     
  14. Javert

    Javert Tank

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,384
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's where I've read it before, and that's how I guessed it. But if this is to be the stickied console commands thread, you gotta at least have the command to bring up the darn console. ;)

    Thanks, now, to play. ^_^
     
  15. The Dark Elf

    The Dark Elf Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    16,082
    Likes Received:
    2
    Edited the original thread
     
  16. Shuzer

    Shuzer Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or, put

    +com_allowconsole 1

    As a shortcut argument, and all you have to do is hit tilde
     
  17. sHm0zY

    sHm0zY Tank

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    I typed in Benchmark, and a whole list of things cmae up whitch one is mine for my settings i have right now..
     
  18. Shuzer

    Shuzer Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    My bad, it's

    +seta com_allowconsole "1"
     
  19. Dr. Freeman

    Dr. Freeman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was looking through the list of commands and didn't notice one for a net graph command.. does Doom3 not have such a command for MP?

    or have i overlooked that list.. or perhaps its not in that list?
    any ideas?
     
  20. OCybrManO

    OCybrManO Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    4,782
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. charybdis

    charybdis Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    This isn't a console command but is a cool feature in the Doom config file in the base folder.

    seta g_showPlayerShadow "1"

    It makes it so you can see a shadow of yourself everywhere you go. I don't know if it is default on some people's machines, but it was disabled on mine.
     
  22. blahblahblah

    blahblahblah Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    FPS drop? Gonna check that out in a minute.
     
  23. The Dark Elf

    The Dark Elf Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    16,082
    Likes Received:
    2
    no fps hit when i used it, i use the model shadow mod aswell giving shadows to all the characters, self shadowing. It all looks amazing.

    Though with the player shadow be careful, cause you really will "be spooked by your own shadow" in parts :D
     
  24. Shuzer

    Shuzer Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. I concur with this, I'm running both the playershadow console command and the self-shadowing mod.. I notice no performance hit with or without these.
     
  25. Dr. Freeman

    Dr. Freeman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    that is so true! :eek:
    i was playing MP earlier today and for me that shadow was enabled by default and sheeesh!

    my own shadow was creeping me out.. :LOL:

    just wondering...is MP hella laggy for anyone? at first for me it was laggy as hell!! :x
    but it did improve once i found a better server... but still.. averaging around 130-150 ping :(

    hmm.. oh well.. guess that will improve over time or something with better dedicated servers and such.
     
  26. blahblahblah

    blahblahblah Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is this self-shadowing mod? I need too know within the next couple of hours, it is getting dark outside. :devil:
     
  27. OCybrManO

    OCybrManO Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    4,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    It lets models cast shadows on themselves.

    In the example shot... his shoulder/armor casts a shadow on his arm, his eyebrows cast shadows over his eyes/nose, and his head casts a shadow across his chest:
     
  28. blahblahblah

    blahblahblah Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, I found the Ultra Extreme Quality mod (which has the self shadowing thing). Awesome.

    Thanks OCyberManO, though I actually meant to say "where can i find the ultra extreme quality mod".
     
  29. Dr. Freeman

    Dr. Freeman Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,787
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm.. u know i haven't made any changes besides adding console and the fps rate but i am still getting these shadows.

    if its a mod, why are mine enabled without me doing anything? hmm...
     
  30. nw909

    nw909 Guest

    Anybody know if It's possible to spawn normal npc's instead of just monsters?

    I wanna spawn some betrugers :D
     
  31. lans

    lans Newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,969
    Likes Received:
    0
    Woa!...that's way too much to read. Can someone just post the FPS checking console command for me - I didn't use it throughout the whole game, but I'd like to know it anyway.
     
  32. MultiVaC

    MultiVaC Tank

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,856
    Likes Received:
    4
    You guys forgot my favorite command: g_dragentity 1. It puts you in manipulator mode.
     
  33. Letters

    Letters Tank

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    6,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's awesome. :) Too bad you can't change it in multiplayer! :p
     
  34. OCybrManO

    OCybrManO Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    4,782
    Likes Received:
    0
  35. Goalie31

    Goalie31 Hunter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats so awesome!

    Hahaha eat laptop, imps! :D
     
  36. MultiVaC

    MultiVaC Tank

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,856
    Likes Received:
    4

    True, but it's pretty hard to find on such a huge list. It was pure luck that I found it somewhere in the first place. But the list you posted is the most complete I've seen so far, it's very useful.

    Anyway, I was kind of disappointed that enemies don't seem to take damage when you smack the with a box, but it's still fun.
     

Share This Page