Couldn't login this morning, then to my horror...

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by SSJ4Vegita2002, Sep 14, 2003.

  1. SSJ4Vegita2002

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally got logged into to steam after about an hour of trying, and to my horror i find that it doesn't recognize any of my games! It's like when i first got steam, all the games are greyed out... And it froze when i tried to get the properties for them. This is rediculous becuase last night I played HL, DMC, and CS perfectly. I was still trying to get DoD (only had 44% of it). I'm trying to log back in now, but it still won't go, I'm hoping my games are back when i get in...
     
  2. Coolhead2100

    Coolhead2100 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    The exact same thing happened to me, and the only game that wasnt greyed out was CS, even though last night I had converted all the games
     
  3. Rasmoh

    Rasmoh Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, the same thing happened to me too. CS worked fine at first, but after I rebooted, Steam won't recognize any of the available games.
     
  4. Nuclear_Gerber

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Happened to me too. I closed, and opened Steam, and all was fine.
     
  5. Gunner

    Gunner Tank

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Happened to me too, last night working fine, this morning total BS...
     
  6. merc

    merc Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    happened to me too steam just sucks that way... i want to be able to just play my games not screw around with all this download new stuff and cache this and cache taht.... TWO DAYS AGO I COULD ACTUALLY PLAY HALF LIFE, COUNTERSTRIKE, AND DOD... NOW I DOWNLOAD STEAM AND I CANT PLAY THEM AT ALL!
     
  7. N0N1337H41

    N0N1337H41 Guest

    Unfortunately I'm having the same issue as merc. Everything was fine until Steam 1.0. now I can't run any of my games. I've read the FAQ on steampowered.com and none of the essential ports are blocked. I'm forced to ask myself... wtf? I've managed to get HL to become colored on the menu as well as deathmatch classic, but I can't play either of them. When I try, steam just freezes and shows (not responding) in the close program dialog box. I've left it in this state for hours. I'm glad to hear that some people are having no problems as this gives me hope, but at this point I'm very discouraged with the product as a whole. I just don't get it..... beta=no problems & 1.0=headache after headache. If anyone has any suggestions I welcome them. The obvious "wait and it will get better" suggestion is not welcome though.
     
  8. mikesux

    mikesux Guest

    Steam is crap.

    When i thought about it, steam is a little bit like battlenet or tribes 2 multiplayer interface, with the exception it doesn't handle any rating system or chatrooms. And instead of auto downloading patches, it autodownloads the full thing.

    But what all these services do, basically, is automatically keep the game up to date and allow you to get playing a game easier. With the rest any sort of connection or download is NOTIFIED TO THE USER with a progress bar, message, or an APPLICATION WHICH DOESN'T ****ING HANG when you connect to the server.

    Steam pops up with different windows and pop ups, using a load of taskbar space for something that could be solved with TABS so easily, and then it goes into "not responding mode" every time it tries to do anything.
     
  9. Fuzzy

    Fuzzy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, top this fellas.

    My steam.exe deleted itself. It is no longer on my machine. I didnt get an email saying i have anything wrong like someone on another forum, it just killed itself. annoying....
     
  10. simmo

    simmo Tank

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    0
    Imagine if your games dissapeared! including HL2!!! ;( . Wont be a problem for me since not getting it off steam :D
     
  11. Tommmo

    Tommmo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just would like to register my problem on this thread also. Got the greyed out games as well, doesnt do anything when I try to install, properties are set not to update (greyed out too) and all with no error messages. Doncha love inexplicable bugs?
     
  12. SSJ4Vegita2002

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I have gotten Steam working. I uninstalled Steam, deleted the folder and the registry keys (in both LOCAL_MACHINE and CURRENT_USER). I downloaded the steaminstall_cs and the content for DoD and DMC off of BitTorrent and installed. That apparently did the trick. I have only gotten one error after this (no children reistered) but after shutting steam off and tying again I didn't get an error. I suggest everyone tries this process, from what ive seen on other forums, this works great. And after all this, I think Steam really is a good program, much better having simple windows to have in-game and the other features work perfect. Hope everyone doesn't give up hope too early.
     
  13. SSJ4Vegita2002

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, which install and/or content file includes HL1 single player? I didn't have HL installed on my computer and after i got steam, i thought the HL game was just multiplayer, to my surprise i fired it up and played through some of the single game. I didn't know steam was delivering SP also. Fun little surprise :)
     
  14. SSJ4Vegita2002

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, i just realized something odd, I don't have a crosshair in HL SP... i tried looking in the options etc, anyone know how to get it back?
     
  15. Feath

    Feath Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like one of the servers had an error and some of your information was lost. It a few weeks you'll be able to restall the games and convert them (they're conversion tools due out), but right now you'll have to redownload the games.

    Regarding the other problems (ie. hanging) there's a User Interface bug which is compounded by the lack of Bandwidth. Mostly when Steam appears to hang, it isn't so have some patience until the next patch can be released.
     
  16. Feath

    Feath Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you have Counter-Strike or Day of Defeat installed?
     
  17. SSJ4Vegita2002

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, both of em, but i didn't think they they had any of the files needed for HL sp besides the textures...oh well, i still don't have a x-hair
     
  18. Feath

    Feath Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    You just need one of the games (Half-Life, Counter-Strike or Day of Defeat) to get access to all of them. You probably downloaded Half-Life.

    I'm not sure what to do about the crosshair but I have a question:

    Why didn't you have Half-Life installed?
     
  19. SSJ4Vegita2002

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is just great...I booted up my computer and it tells me that my password for WinXP Pro has expired. Ive changed this password many times before. now when i log into steam it doesn't recognize any of my games anymore. The files are all still in the steam folder under my e-mail addy, but in the list when i click on them it wants to install them and it asks for a cd key and all that crap again, then it just freezes. this is getting rediculous, the steam install with all the cache files worked fine b4, now its all messed up again, anyone got a solution?
     
  20. morpherex

    morpherex Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything works fine for me. Maybe it's not working for you because you named your self ssj4vegita?

    The win xp password thing has nothing to do with steam, so it shouldn't affect it.
     
  21. SSJ4Vegita2002

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    wtf does my name have to do with it? im just saying that it was working fine until i changed my password for XP, now i can't even login anymore.
     
  22. morpherex

    morpherex Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steam must be down or something. It's not integrated with win xp's password, duh >_>. Steam is still down probably. Their still distributing masses most likley cuz people are ignorant and don't know they have a FULL install out now.
     

Share This Page