Bad Company 2 Multiplayer Beta

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by DigiQ8, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    24,819
    Likes Received:
    2
    My FRAPS doesn't lag, it just upright crashes BC2 once I hit record. Oh well...*Pats camcorder on head*
     
  2. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    24,819
    Likes Received:
    2
    So, last night while debating about getting a quad core for this game....I decided to play with overclocking on my E8400. What would happen at the start is over time and randomly, I'd get drops to around 15 FPS that lasts for a second or two. Really annoying when in a firefight. Also, while looking towards the back of the battlefield, it would be the smoothest game ever. Once I started to turn towards the front where the action was, you could tell the FPS dropped a bit, as it got a bit more choppy. Nothing super bad, but enough to notice.

    Well, after upping my processor from 3.0 GHZ to 3.15, that 15 FPS was pretty much gone. I was really not anything higher on the temp meter also. So I went higher. 3.24. Better performance with ever so slightly higher temps. Keep going, 3.44. I'm sitting there as I'm getting max of 64 FPS when not looking towards the rear of the map while I'm avg 25-30 FPS at all times otherwise.

    I'm happy :D
     
  3. Tyguy

    Tyguy Space Core

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7,991
    Likes Received:
    6
    ^

    I have to play the game on medium settings...which stinks, but anything higher and my mouse lags like a bitch. I can run the game fine on high ignoring that but it makes it really hard to aim.

    am i the only one with this *gay problem?

    *gay problem - problems that have sex with problems similar to their own.
     
  4. hool10

    hool10 Tank

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,829
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I built my computer, everybody was like "oh don't get a quad because your never going to use those 2 extra CPU's". Well I knew that you never upgrade your CPU and seeing the trend of 1GB was enough to now 4GB is enough, I thought the quad core was going to be a safe bet. Bad Company 2 on my machine runs very smooth and I think it may be attributed to the quad core. Just keep in mind though this beta only uses DX9 and will be optimized more. In fact the patch coming today is supposed to do that.
     
  5. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,073
    Likes Received:
    710
    I get decent performance on max settings at 1920x1200, even with HBAO on, with a stock q6600 a 4850 and 8 gigs of ram. Actually, I think I only have 8xAF, 2x AA (resolution is high enough to not need much) and vsync off.
     
  6. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    24,819
    Likes Received:
    2
    I wish I could pick if I used HBAO, AA, AF....I don't have that advanced button in my graphics options. Probably because of my 8800GT.
     
  7. Dinnesch

    Dinnesch Space Core

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    6
    It does support DX11(which allows Anti-Aliasing, marketing bullshit)

    DX11 seems to cause more trouble than it improves the game: Aiming gets very tough, ping to servers doesn't show up(might have another cause), and worst of all: it ruins performance while barely improving visual quality(clicky)
     
  8. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,073
    Likes Received:
    710
    Oh, thats why it doesnt show up? How do I change dx versions?
     
  9. Dinnesch

    Dinnesch Space Core

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm not sure if DX11 was the cause as mentioned before, I use Windows XP to play it which shows the ping just fine :)
     
  10. Escaep

    Escaep Tank

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. My Documents
    2. BFBC2Beta
    3. Open up Settings.ini
    4. Change DxVersion equal to 9, or 10
     
  11. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,073
    Likes Received:
    710
    uhh... How does that mean its not DX11? XP is DX9.
     
  12. Dinnesch

    Dinnesch Space Core

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    6
    I meant like, it might be the Windows 7/XP difference or something else instead of the different DX version.

    Can't wait for the final game, especially if the most major problems are fixed.
     
  13. OmegaX

    OmegaX Tank

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone know how many maps retail ships with?
     
  14. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,073
    Likes Received:
    710
    Ahh. Well, we'll find out soon enough.

    No official word yet. I'd suspect around 12 though. And they said the free dlc that will be out on release includes new maps.
     
  15. hool10

    hool10 Tank

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,829
    Likes Received:
    2
  16. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,073
    Likes Received:
    710
    Damn, some of those maps look beautiful. Laguna Alta and Presa in particular.
     
  17. Shakermaker

    Shakermaker Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,253
    Likes Received:
    2
    I wonder if there will be any real urban maps like Karkand of Sharqi. Valparaiso Village maybe?
     
  18. Escaep

    Escaep Tank

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read that Karkand will be a free DLC. The link is somewhere in this thread.
     
  19. Shakermaker

    Shakermaker Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,253
    Likes Received:
    2
    Found it.

    Btw EA announced today that it will include day 1 free DLC, supposedly with a couple of new maps. That seems to corroborate with the Karkand story. Oh man, I can't wait to blow that whole city up to smithereens.
     
  20. Ravioli

    Ravioli Microboner

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Repi said in his twitter a while back that the game would get 16 maps, so im guessing they havent revealed all of them yet.
     
  21. TwwIX

    TwwIX Tank

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3,044
    Likes Received:
    1
    "Free DLC" aka shit that should have been in the game in the first place.

    Anyway, no beta patch today. Maybe tomorrow.
     
  22. hool10

    hool10 Tank

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,829
    Likes Received:
    2
    What about BF2: Euro Force, Special Forces, and Armored Fury? Hey if they release expansion packs that are worth it, I will shell out $10. Valve does it for free but it's tiny and takes forever to get released.
     
  23. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    24,819
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree with the whole "Oh god, will this DLC **** shit up" thing. What is the need of day 1 DLC besides "MORE MONEEYYYY"? None.....and with EA there, you can expect it. I just hope DICE works a way to not let this gay the non-DLCers.
     
  24. TwwIX

    TwwIX Tank

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3,044
    Likes Received:
    1
    Booster Packs=DLC
    Apart from Special Forces, neither one of those is an expansion pack.
    No ass bought them. So, they gave them away for free.

    Anyway. EA is doing the same shit they did with Dragon Age and Mass Effect 2.
    Removing content from the main game and then offering it as a DLC for early adopters.
     
  25. Ravioli

    Ravioli Microboner

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh my ****ing god i hate bad co-pilots. You know the gunner seat in the Apache? I give him PERFECT opportunities, i see 99999 people running around on the ground, but he WONT ****ing FIRE. Jesus christ its so frustrating, its like JUST POINT AND CLICK, ITS NOT THAT HARD. Instead he just fires 1 bullet randomly here and there. ****ing unload on them, the bullets have splash damage you incompetent shitbag.

    ****

    /rage
     
  26. MuToiD_MaN

    MuToiD_MaN The Freeman

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,510
    Likes Received:
    190
    Better than the opposite positions where you never get a chance to fire a good shot and then you hit a building.
     
  27. Kyorisu

    Kyorisu Tank

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,667
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the defenders let me steal the Apache all is lost. I've gotten several kill streaks into the 70+ range.
     
  28. MuToiD_MaN

    MuToiD_MaN The Freeman

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,510
    Likes Received:
    190
    You son of a bitch. You're the reason I always end up playing base "mom" in Battlefield games.
     
  29. TwwIX

    TwwIX Tank

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    3,044
    Likes Received:
    1
    Patch is out.

    FPS has definitely been improved but it's still inconsistent for me. At some spots i have over 90 then it drops to 35.
    Well, at least it's staying above 30 for now.
     
  30. Ravioli

    Ravioli Microboner

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,102
    Likes Received:
    1
  31. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    24,819
    Likes Received:
    2
    Man, after I go through overclocking my CPU for better performance in game, they release this? Assholes

    :p

    I can't wait to see how it is now.
     
  32. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,073
    Likes Received:
    710
    I really like the way they do their changelogs. It actually explains things rather than just "we fixed this". Good to know why things were happening. Another reason I like Dice.
     
  33. CyberPitz

    CyberPitz Party Escort Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    24,819
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree. The way they explained why the game sometimes crashed when the vehicle died was VERY informative.

    Props to DICE.
     
  34. Ravioli

    Ravioli Microboner

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    This patch is really good, i can now play smoothly on all high settings. No AA/vsync/HBAO tho.
     
  35. Kyorisu

    Kyorisu Tank

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,667
    Likes Received:
    0
    For a mode that revolves entirely around spots in bases a surprisingly large amount of people can safely be called retards. One squad gets behind your lines and you'll be the only guy trying to stop them, hate that shit.
     
  36. 15357

    15357 Companion Cube

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    15,217
    Likes Received:
    15
    It's a bit hard to notice little moving dots on the ground. :(
     
  37. Kyorisu

    Kyorisu Tank

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then use your noggin and shoot where you think the enemy is and unload all shots at a time if you want to actually kill things.
     
  38. Ravioli

    Ravioli Microboner

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    The latest patch gave me a major FPS boost, can run everything on high now, and fraps KINDA works now. I can record but it causes my mouse and keyboard to have sluggish input lag. And when there is really intense action its impossible to control the mouse. They damn better have battlecam in retail.

    short vid of random shit i filmed, nothing fancy, just trying fraps out. Stupid resolution/aspect ratio/FOV turns it into a fugly letterbox.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nSfjNGFgSCo
     
  39. hool10

    hool10 Tank

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,829
    Likes Received:
    2
    Spam the Q button. You spot a target for your squad only and it puts a spot mark on the guy for a short time even if they go into a house.
     
  40. Tyguy

    Tyguy Space Core

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7,991
    Likes Received:
    6
    question about UAV...i can't seem to get the ****er off the ground, is it different from typical chopper controls?
     

Share This Page