Avatars to large

Discussion in 'ValveTime Feedback' started by giant384, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. giant384

    giant384 Tank

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,151
    Likes Received:
    4
    Anyone else having this issue where the avatar is to large and overlaps text within a response in the thread?
     
  2. Chris D

    Chris D Administrator.
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    11,909
    Likes Received:
    402
    Nope. Could you provide a screenshot?

    Also, let us know what browser you're running etc.
     
  3. MuToiD_MaN

    MuToiD_MaN The Freeman

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,510
    Likes Received:
    190
    Interpretation of the typo in the thread title: avatars used to be regular-sized, those silly admins changed the avatar setting to "large"

    EDIT: God damn nice to see so many oldtimers coming back! I can't forget the Tetris gif.
     
  4. giant384

    giant384 Tank

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,151
    Likes Received:
    4
    [​IMG]

    Using IE9, not my choice. Its the only one that works for what i need at work.
     
  5. Vegeta897

    Vegeta897 Banned as all fuck

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    26,146
    Likes Received:
    767
    That's very odd.
     
  6. Chris D

    Chris D Administrator.
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    11,909
    Likes Received:
    402
    Ahh I can reproduce this, but only in Internet Explorer compatibility mode.

    You need to make sure this site doesn't load in Compatibility View.

    I forget where the option is, but there is one.

    It essentially runs the site in Internet Explorer 7 mode - we don't support Internet Explorer 7, but the site does work in Internet Explorer 8 and above.
     
  7. giant384

    giant384 Tank

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,151
    Likes Received:
    4

    Nope, not in compatibility mode. I guess everyone uses anything other then IE huh? haha
     
  8. Chris D

    Chris D Administrator.
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    11,909
    Likes Received:
    402
    Most people do, but seriously. I've tested this in IE9 and I only get the problem in compatibility mode... it's fine in IE9, look:
    [​IMG]

    The only explanation is compatibility view, as it's only if I enable compatibility view in IE9 that I get the problem:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,073
    Likes Received:
    710
    Are you sure its IE9? Like, super super sure? It also works fine on my laptop with IE9.

    Maybe reset defaults? Go to the settings icon > Internet Options > Advanced > Reset Defaults
     
  10. giant384

    giant384 Tank

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,151
    Likes Received:
    4
    My bad its actually IE9.0.8112.16421

    Apoligies to the Internet..../s
     
  11. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,073
    Likes Received:
    710
    Well, I can confirm that it does that exact issue with IE7 on Vista (and also that this customer doesn't know how to avoid bloatware)
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Vegeta897

    Vegeta897 Banned as all fuck

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    26,146
    Likes Received:
    767
    Jesus freakin' christ.
     
  13. MuToiD_MaN

    MuToiD_MaN The Freeman

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,510
    Likes Received:
    190
    What in the actual ****.
     
  14. Chris D

    Chris D Administrator.
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    11,909
    Likes Received:
    402
    I have no doubt that you're using IE 9.

    But you are viewing this site in compatibility view, or there's some other problem.

    The site works fine in IE9 (and IE8) as tested by myself many times in the past and others. As suggested you would need to start by looking at or resetting your settings.

    Specifically, click Tools (you may have to press the Alt key for the menu bar to appear) > Compatibility View Settings > and make sure that valvetime.net isn't in the list and definitely make sure that "Display all sites in compatibility view" isn't checked.
     
  15. Chris D

    Chris D Administrator.
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    11,909
    Likes Received:
    402
    Yeah it's to be expected. It would require a ****ing awful amount of work to ensure the site is compatible in all browsers. Especially those that are 6 years old. There's versions of Firefox that are newer than IE7 that do not work very well either due to some major performance issues with jQuery.
     
  16. Krynn72

    Krynn72 The Freeman

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    26,073
    Likes Received:
    710
    Also he had 4 antivirus programs, and three shortcuts each for IE and FF on the desktop. And also 380+ viruses.
     
  17. Chris D

    Chris D Administrator.
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    11,909
    Likes Received:
    402
    Did you set fire to it?! (the client, not the computer).
     

Share This Page