Audio Problems with HL2

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by SpeedDemon, Nov 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Frankie1984

    Frankie1984 Guest

    when i open my "play games" tab in steam and right click on hl2. it says the last update was in august.... is this just the news or is it game versions as well..... i don't know if i got the patch either!!! starting to annoy me a bit....
     
  2. tdarkjedik

    tdarkjedik Guest

    I HATE VALVE!!!!!

    NOTHING! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!!!
    THIS PIECE OF SHIT FROM A PATCH DOES ABSOLUTELY NOTHING !!!!!
    IT STUTTERS LIKE SHIT AGAIN AND AGAIN!!!

    Ok, that was it. Tomorrow this shitgame from these ****ING programmers can say "hello" again to the shelf in my Gamesstore.

    This is absolutely the ************* thing, I've ever seen in my life as Gamer!!! =/
    Shame on on f***ing steam and most of all, shame on VALVE!!!!! =/


    Good Bye.
     
  3. Wraithen

    Wraithen Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0

    Good Bye.
     
  4. nulliar

    nulliar Guest

    Same here... I still get the stutters so I can only assume it hasn't been updated yet. This Steam stuff is really testing my nerves.
     
  5. HamsterErik

    HamsterErik Guest

    Anyway to get rid of the patch?
    Can I install a clean Half-life 2 and then activate it to steam without getting this patch?
     
  6. The Dark Elf

    The Dark Elf Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    16,082
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has anyone actually _tried_ the recommendations they gave instead of relying entirely on the patch which did or did not do anything to HL2 itself.
     
  7. dogboy73

    dogboy73 Tank

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recommendations? You mean to turn this & that down? I don't see why we should but in any case I turned everything down to low & the problem is just as bad. Before & after the 'Mat_forcetextureintohardware 1' command (Or the 'Patch' in other words).

    (BTW. Nice avatar. I asked this in another thread but not sure of you replied. It's Jordan Capri isn't it? well .......... She's more relaible than HL2!)
     
  8. nulliar

    nulliar Guest

    The "mat_forcetextureintohardware" command is not reckognized in my game. I'm assuming this means (for some reason or another) that my game did not update. I'm both saddened and happy (because I know why I'm still stuttering) by this.

    As for their "reccomendations"... hmmm, this is stuff we've been trying from the get-go before the patch was released. It didn't help me then and it won't help me now.
     
  9. howierd

    howierd Guest

    Happy Freakin Thanksgiving godamnit.....
    :upstare:
     
  10. Frankie1984

    Frankie1984 Guest

    As for the turning down or off graphics options..... I payed a lot of money for this game, wy should i have to play it with the graphics lowered!?!? the game experience is good and all... but i want my graphics!!!
     
  11. nulliar

    nulliar Guest

    Update: Apparently I DO have the patch (checked the version) and my stuttering SEEMS to be worse. I started the game over (since I uninstalled and reinstalled earlier) and the parts where I didn't get stuttering have heavy stuttering and fps drops.... I'm going to go eat some turkey :-/
     
  12. mausse

    mausse Guest

    please tell me it is not true....patch :imu: ain't working.....arggggg
     
  13. nulliar

    nulliar Guest

    I turned off the mat_force... (to 0) and finally used the command to force preloading... my stuttering is worse than ever. I guess I should... I don't know... cry myself to sleep?
     
  14. slammer

    slammer Guest

    i turn soundcard down to basic acceleration and texture down to low in advanced option in HL2 and now I have no stutter stutter. So my ati 9700 pro must be crap crap
     
  15. FarleyUK

    FarleyUK Guest

    Hi all,

    I downloaded the patch and it's stopped the vast majority of stuttering (although I still get it when the level loads). I don't know if it completely down to the patch, as I also did the following over the past couple of days, and this was the first time I had tried HL2 since doing them:

    - Installed and then reinstalled XP SP2

    - Removed the Omega nVidia drivers, rebooted, installed official 67.02 betas and rebooted.

    - Deleted the config and autoexec files from the hl2 directory

    - I had 1.5 gigs of RAM. This was with 2 x 512 Corsair XMS sticks in Dual DDR config, and 1 x 512 TwinMOS stick. I removed the TwinMOS RAM stick, leaving just the 1 gig of Dual DDR Corsair XMS memory

    - Changed the RAM timing from 'optimal' to 'Aggressive' in BIOS

    Hope this helps to pinpoint the error and helps some people. I also didn't get any crashes......
     
  16. BlackMesaDude

    BlackMesaDude Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    if doom3 can run with fsaa why should hl2 be so different ?
     
  17. Frankie1984

    Frankie1984 Guest

  18. Wraithen

    Wraithen Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone experiencing these problems with the patch actually informed Valve about it? This might well have been an issue that should have been addressed during testing, but at least they're trying to come up with solutions to the problem.
     
  19. stiz

    stiz Guest

    gamespot says this:

    "The fix was supposed to be released this week, but the series of bugs causing the problem are proving elusive to stamp out, so expect it next week."

    so, it looks as if gamespot's article is wrong because there certainly was a patch this week. the article was posted two hours after the patch was released, so i don't know why they said there wouldn't be one. this is getting more and more confusing with every minute i spend reading about it... :rolling:
     
  20. doomed - uk

    doomed - uk Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my doubts.

    HL2 was okay for me before this patch, now everything is much worse.

    However, something I've found out is that if you use Windows XP System Restore and choose a date a couple of days before the patch, what appears to be the patch downloads itself again when you start Steam.

    It might be the patch, it might not be the patch. But it's about the same size.

    Which is deeply weird if it is the patch and a bit alarming. I've got to wonder what the hell Steam was fiddling with that System Restore erases it. My harddrive was behaving weirdly and functioning very slowly after the patch and goes back to normal after a System Restore.

    So what you might be able to do is use System Restore on XP like this if it really does erase the patch, then always run HL2 in offline mode and avoid downloading whatever Steam wants to download.

    But I have my doubts that this is what is happening and that System Restore erases everything, but it's worth a go.

    I'm going to try it later myself.
     
  21. Concept

    Concept Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried that exact suggestion a few hours before.

    Great thing is Steam refuses to start in offline mode from a system restore until it's been 'updated' online.

    Which means, like it or not, Steam is going to update.

    Fantastic, huh? Especially when the patch makes the game far more unplayable.
     
  22. doomed - uk

    doomed - uk Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see. What about hitting cancel during the update? I'm going to try that.
     
  23. Jonny_Hermit

    Jonny_Hermit Guest

    There's a simple way to turn it off - disable the newly added cvar. All the patch did was add a new cvar The mat_forcetextureintohardware 1. Set it to 0 to change it back to normal. Works for me. Before, I got stuttering, but the game ran fine when it wasn't stuttering (40-60 FPS). After the patch, not only does the stuttering get worse, my overall FPS drops to around 20-30. Changing back to 0 turned it off again.
     
  24. TEDR

    TEDR Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    TRY disable hardware accelertion on your sound. it worked for me. and now the game runs great.
     
  25. MotoR31

    MotoR31 Guest

    I'm so ****en tired of hearing shit like that!!

    IT DOESNT WORK, READ THE ****EN THREAD
     
  26. Konception

    Konception Guest

    I think you're right. I'm currently running an M-Audio Delta 44 soundcard which is a high end card used for recording audio and I'm still having the stuttering problem.
     
  27. The.Spiral

    The.Spiral Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL @ slammer!!!

    :cheers:
     
  28. Gish05

    Gish05 Guest

    :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:

    You just made my evening.

     
  29. rd_syringe

    rd_syringe Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, last night I installed the patch.

    The stuttering got worse, and all the audio was now scratchy and poppy. I was very annoyed.

    An hour later, I decided to run the game again. On a whim, I checked the Steam launch options--I had all those console tweaks set! I removed all of them, and reran the game. Guess what?

    My stuttering problem is 95% gone, with the remaining being the occasional brief pause during an autosave or entering a large new area (I also assume the NVidia bug is affecting a few things, but I don't notice). The framerate is now much smoother. The game is completely playable now and I'm finally going to beat it.

    I know it's annoying when people post "solutions" that don't work, but just to make sure anyway, check and see that you don't have any of those tweaks set. I removed them, and the patch suddenly took affect.
     
  30. Shinobi

    Shinobi Tank

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    0
    I completely uninstalled and deleted steam/hl2, then reinstalled with no tweaks,,,

    no dice
     
  31. droid002

    droid002 Guest

    Before the "patch?" the game stuttered just before a event. Now the game seems like its being slow all the time instead.

    No matter the details, resolution etc....

    Fix this now, please.

    Btw, Isn´t there anyway to disable that piece of sh*t called Steam? I don´t want to disconnect my NIC everytime I´m going to play HF2 (I´m using wireless).
     
  32. Wraithen

    Wraithen Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0
    So don't disconnect it. I heard a rumour that Steam has an online function too that doesn't get in the way of you playing Half Life 2.
     
  33. vsop

    vsop Guest

    The fix did solve some stuttering for me.., but not all

    It is worse now in CS source! it seems. I never had stuttering their!

    Yesterday I completelt removed steam and HL2... downloaded the "free" version of HL2.
    And guess what! NO STUTTERING!!!!

    WTF! more pleople tried that?
     
  34. Smoke

    Smoke Tank

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    0
    what the hell do u mean "tweaks"
     
  35. HamsterErik

    HamsterErik Guest

    vsop, which version do you mean by the "free" version?
    A version you download on steam after uninstalling or a warez version or whatever?

    I have done eveything to get rid of the stutters and i'm starting to get desperate hehe
     
  36. Spicey

    Spicey Guest

    Ahem, is that the, "free" version that I've heard works perfectly.
     
  37. vsop

    vsop Guest


    Yup, I bought the game..., sttt tttt uttttt errrrr.....

    Got the "free" one...., and oooooaaaaahhh yeah what a game!
     
  38. Reaktor4

    Reaktor4 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    patch didnt work for me
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page